The Making of a Nature Photographer

Deborah-Wildlife Photographer
3 min readSep 30, 2023
© Deborah Kunzie

My childhood was blessed.

To begin with, I was fortunate to have been raised by the most wonderful parents in the world. My father made the conscious decision to raise my sister and myself immersed in a environmental haven. Isolated and somewhat shielded from disturbances that may have been happening in the world outside of our small sanctuary.

A place where I had the opportunity to spend countless explorations to foster my curiosities. A place that served as the gateway to me becoming a nature/wildlife photographer.

Don’t get me wrong. This location was filled with its own tales from bygone eras, and my insatiable curiosity drove me to constant research. But the thing that grabbed hold of me the most was Nature and all it’s details.

School, for me, was ‘just okay.’ It wasn’t particularly thrilling or memorable. Sitting in those rigid school chairs day in and day out, my mind often wandered far from the confines of the classroom.

All I could think about was the moment I would finally get home and sprint down to the wetland area at the base of our property, where I could explore all the mysteries of the hidden natural world. I had to tromp through the peat land bog first, sinking to my knees at times before I could step onto the lush mossy ground of the under-story. Then to lift…

--

--

Deborah-Wildlife Photographer

I am a nature lover, bird & wildlife photographer. I photograph to hopefully motivate others to become stewards of our precious planet. I am also a Minimalist!