My IUP Experience

Trinna Decker
4 min readSep 14, 2023

--

I am Trinna Decker, and I am from Mount Union PA (a very small town in the middle of nowhere). I grew up in a family of six and I have three younger siblings that I have taken care of ever since I was five. I have always wanted to be a teacher because of them. I loved teaching them new things and I liked taking care of them when my parents were working. So, I decided to go to college to be an elementary school teacher. This is my story about why I decided to go to IUP to become a teacher.

Outside of The Hadley Union Building

When I was applying for different colleges, everyone I talked to had good opinions about IUP. My school councilor was the first person I talked to when I was trying to make one of the biggest decisions of my life, choosing a college. I had many options to choose from and I didn’t know which college to apply to first. I applied to IUP first since my councilor insisted. It was very easy to apply, and she walked me through step by step. I also applied to many different schools, and I got accepted by every one of them. I didn’t know what to do, so I went to visit them. The first college I went to visit was very nice and peaceful, but the dorms were crowded, and I didn’t think I would be able to live there without feeling uncomfortable. Then I went to go see IUP. When I went there, I instantly decided that this would be my college.

Outside of Stephenson at 7pm

The dorms were very nice and spacious. They are like little apartments for you and your roommate. The scenery was amazing, and the campus felt like its own little world. Everyone was very friendly, and the campus was very peaceful. I thought that the campus would be loud, but it was quite quiet and beautiful.

My IUP Dorm Room

They had many classrooms that were perfect for my major. They also had many childcare facilities that would help me gain experience with children, so that I can become a good elementary school teacher. I was told that IUP had a good teaching program that was perfect for me. For how nice IUP is I was surprised with how cheap it was to come here. I received a good scholarship which made it very affordable for me and my family.

Even though it seemed like a very nice place I was still nervous for my first day. It was the first time I was away from my family, and I didn’t know what it would be like to have to live on my own. On welcome week I decided to attend the IUP play fair, and I am so glad that I did. I met many new people, and they helped me get accustomed to life here.

IUP Play Fair

Me and my new friends went to do a lot of things together. We went to the gaming room in the hub to play Mario cart and we played card games together. We also got to see a movie outside and there was even a hypnotist on campus. When we go to the dining hall there is always something new. They even had a baby calf one day. She was very cute.

IUP Cow at The North Dining Hall

I have really enjoyed my experience so far here. I think that I chose the right college for me. I am getting out my shell and I am meeting new amazing people. All the professors have been very helpful and supportive. So far, my college experience has been very nice, and I want everyone to have as much fun as I did when I started college.

--

--