This is the First Year Women Get Recognized in the Historic Lowrider Magazine Hall of Fame

Belinda (DeeDee) Garcia Blase
6 min readAug 12, 2023

--

Have you wondered why all of a sudden women’s recognition is taking place in the historic and iconic Lowrider Magazine community this year? Who is responsible for that? And, why? What led to that? What is the real history behind women getting promoted within the Lowrider community that led to a much-needed change?

During the pandemic year, I began producing and filming a television pilot that is centered around a heroine main character within the male-dominated world of lowriding. A bit of juxtaposition takes place. Little did I know that making this indie film would help me identify necessary changes that ought to be implemented within the entertainment industry and the prominent influential Lowrider Magazine. There are some things that agitate some of us (advocates) to move and shake things around into alignment. For me that agitation comes in the form of apathy within my Mexican American community, how we are depicted in media, and the lack of knowledge and courage to speak up and implement what is right instead of turning a blind eye to situations that need progress.

Before I document history here, allow me to quickly give you some backstory. I do not have decades behind me as a member of the lowrider community, however, I do have decades behind me as an advocate for Mexican American issues that range from Civil Rights to the undocumented immigrant issue, women, and so forth. I only recently bought a 1955 Cadillac Classic Car at Barrett Jackson and attribute my interest in classic cars to my dad who would restore junkyard cars and make them shine. With that being said, the founders of Lowrider Magazine were San Jose State students Larry Gonzalez, David Nuñez, and Sonny Madrid and when they began publishing, they didn’t own lowriders either. They bought their lowriders after their college student phase and began publishing Lowrider Magazine. On the cover of the very first issue of the historic Lowrider Magazine published is a respectable-looking Chicana in front of a couple of cars. Much history from the 1970s to now is recorded in that historic magazine from Chicano activism, to politics, to cars, to community awareness concerns, and more.

After I completed my first full feature film, Destiny took me on a path to produce a documentary on one of the godfathers of custom car painting — Ruben LA BUGGS Ochoa. In addition to Buggs being one of the OG’s of painting — he is also a Lowrider Hall of Famer who has voting power to nominate individuals for future Lowrider Hall of Fame events. I thought it would be a good idea to capture some B Roll footage at the Lowrider Hall of Fame.

The historic and first Lowrider Magazine is owned by MotorTrend (MT) — the largest automobile media company in the world. MT owns several prominent car magazines like MotorTrend, Hot Rod, Four Wheeler, Roadkill, Lowrider and etc. I knew I had to get written permission from Lowrider but made the mistake of going to an employee who worked for an authorized 3rd party company under Lowrider Magazine. It was confusing because that 3rd party employee appeared to be the face of Lowrider. I quickly discovered I needed to get expressed written permission from MT’s legal counsel in order to receive their permission to use the iconic Lowrider Magazine logo. With that said, the 3rd party employee became upset at me for going through legal and demanded everything and anything having to do with Lowrider must go through him. Initially, I was confused but MotorTrend’s senior lead counsel, Diana Malhis, cleared it up and reassured me I did the right thing because they own the intellectual property.

I was a little taken aback by the 3rd party employee’s response so I researched him because I knew little of him. I personally discovered and believe he had male machoism/machismo undertones to his character. Now … I’m not judging this man, however, I am evaluating a tree’s fruit that it produces. During my research of the company holding the license via Del Rio Marketing, I was disappointed but not surprised to find out that not one single mention of a female nominee was in the 2022 Lowrider Hall of Fame Event. [We are almost a quarter of a century into the new millennium for crying out loud!]

So I penned a letter to the MotorTrend Vice President, Head of Legal, Diana, and asked if MotorTrend would ensure their 3rd party companies would be more inclusive of women. I identified to her the lack of checks-and-balances, and how the authorized 3rd party employee (who appeared to be the face of Lowrider) seemed to be implementing a culture likened to how he runs his own car club where NO WOMEN ARE ALLOWED. Now I know this because one of his car club members passed away and when fellow members advocated for the widow to be one of their members, the “all man’s club” card was raised. That widow ended up going to Pegasus Car Club.

Letter to Diana R. Malhis, Vice President, Head of Legal — MotorTrend

I was pleasantly surprised with Diana Malhis’ quick response the following morning. She reassured me an investigation would be conducted and suffice it to say the 3rd Party employee was ousted in a couple of months.

I was recently informed by a social media group leader, April Flores, who founded Barrio Lowrider Lifestyle how Lowrider Magazine recognized women in the Lowrider Hall of Fame this year in Las Vegas. Richard Ochoa who is part of Brian Aguafresca’s authorized 3rd Party Team as a renter of the Lowrider license confirmed the wonderful news that Brian was going to finally acknowledge a woman. Diana made sure Brian of Del Rio Marketing would acknowledge a woman. With that said, I want to give credit where credit is due. Diana Malhis was instrumental to ensure women would be included and recognized at future Lowrider Magazine’s Hall of Fame Events. It is a win to embrace inclusiveness. Had MotorTrend not hired a woman like Diana — community advocates such as myself may have been more intimidated to address the female issue with a man (instead of a woman) in a car culture company. I wrestled for weeks in writing that letter to MotorTrend but my god nature took over and I submitted the email to Head Counsel despite what the backlash would be.

The forever iconic, historic, and very first Lowrider Magazine ever published is on the right path. Don’t get me wrong, there are some things that need to be tweaked here and there on their social media, however, being inclusive and recognizing women is definitely the right path.

A special congratulations is in order to Tina Blankenship who received the Lowrider Hall of Fame Woman of the Year. She deserves it as she has built several lowrider cars including installing hydraulics. I was told by a reputable source a certain bikini model was upset she did not receive a Woman’s Mention for the iconic Lowrider Hall of Fame Event but was informed she was told that merely posing in a bikini in front of a Lowrider (or in bathrooms to fulfill a boy’s fantasy purposes) is a far cry from building a Lowrider. More importantly, spreading misinformation and myths is a big no-no when it comes to copyrights, intellectual property, and trademarks — especially intellectual property owned by the largest automobile media company in the world.

In a post Me Too Movement era, it is important to push education with the next generation of Chicanas and Latinas. My People Die for Lack of Knowledge, and advocates must continue to push and fight for equality afforded to the other women in other ethnic groups. How brown women (and our community in general) are depicted in entertainment is something that matters to me — — and the imagery demands a respectful and equal one in the corporate world.

Thank you again, Diana Malhis. It happened because of you. Women are inducted into the Lowrider Hall of Fame now. Also a special congratulations to Tina Blankenship, Denise Sandoval, Juanita Jimenez, Norma Hernandez, and Pearl Hernandez-Seiler!

--

--

Belinda (DeeDee) Garcia Blase

Writer/Producer in Filmmaking. Co-Founder of SOMOS INDEPENDENTS, a woman-led organization promoting #Humanitarian assignments. Former contributor of HuffPost.