Adieu Anaplan

Deepak Alur
2 min readApr 22, 2018

--

After spending a fulfilling 2 years at Anaplan, I decided to move on. Anaplan is an amazing company with an amazing product started by Michael Gould. I came to Anaplan when my company Chartcube was acquired in April 2016. My co-founder Pankaj Tibrewal and I started Chartcube in 2013 to re-imagine data collaboration in the mobile era. Our team at Chartcube built an amazing product by re-imagining how to navigate and explore data, discover insights, and collaborate with team members. We started with a mobile-first approach and morphed into providing our solution on all platforms — iOS, Android, and Web. Our small but incredibly talented team was creative, innovative, fast and had developed a culture of innovation and collaboration.

Soon after joining, I was given the opportunity to lead the nascent engineering team in San Francisco. Over the next year, there was a lot of transformation across the company with a series of changes from the top (new leadership) to bottom (new talent at all levels). In the past 2 years, we built and matured our team, hired a lot of engineers, improved our development processes and engineering discipline. We established our engineering values and culture, mission, and created specific pillars of engineering in San Francisco to serve cloud, data, collaboration and security engineering. As I leave Anaplan, I am happy to leave behind an established mission-driven team of engineers that can scale and build amazing products. I am confident that the team will continue the evolution and make significant progress going forward.

I am grateful for the opportunity and happy to have played my part in this amazing company, which I think will continue to make a huge impact and will become an enduring enterprise software company. I personally gained a lot of learning by the interactions with many talented and dedicated colleagues across the world. I thank each one of you who for your partnership and collaboration with me during this journey. I will continue to be a fan and cheer on as my friends and colleagues take Anaplan to the next level of success!

PS: I have joined the team at OpenGov as a VP of Engineering. More on that in a future post.

--

--

Deepak Alur

engineer | entrepreneur | investor | ❤️️ building great teams & products - VPE @onemedical previously @OpenGov @Anaplan @Chartcube @JackBe @eBay @Sun @CMCLtd