Xcode: 3 Tips For Speedy Coding

Deepali Mendhekar
4 min readNov 23, 2021

Here are some keyboard shortcuts and some useful features buried in the right-click menu that all Xcode users can benefit from. I wish I had discovered them sooner than I did but once I did I have used them every single day.

Photo by Jean Gerber on Unsplash

Find by Name

Sometimes using a mouse is a waste of time. All great programmers use the mouse only when necessary. It just causes fewer time delays and hence faster coding. It is worthwhile to invest time in learning keyboard shortcuts for Xcode. You will find a few here in this article but many other keyboard shortcuts are useful too.

One such keyboard shortcut that I use all the time is for the Open Quickly feature in Xcode. No need to use the Project Navigator to browse through to look for a file or use the Find Navigator to search by name when you can search for not only a file by name but also a function, method, or a variable by name using this keyboard shortcut. Press Shift-Command-O or ⇧-⌘-O to bring up the Open Quickly dialog and type what you are looking for. Xcode will bring up all the potential matches for you to pick from.

As if this is not enough, another hidden gem is this feature to filter the Project…

--

--

Deepali Mendhekar

I am passionate about all things software. I devour news, articles, and Medium inspired me to write. My recent craze is mobile app development.