No Technology?

Damn that’s hard…

Del
1 min readNov 7, 2016

Now I fully admit that I am totally adicted to technology. My computer is always in my backpack. I always have my phone. It is always within reach and ready to be answered.

I tried to do my 15 minutes when I was in my room alone. I usually sit and pay games or scroll through social media apps. First thing I noticed was how difficult it was. I went into it with an optimistic attitude. I didn’t think it would be that hard. The first few minutes were fine. I had to do something else to distract myself. Sometimes I cleaned, sometimes I read for one of my classes but my mind would always wander. I had this constant need in the back of my mid to check my phone. “Someone is probably texting me.” “I’ve got to be missing something.”

This exercise made me more aware of how much I am effected by technology even when I am not on it. I think I will try to continue this practice(maybe in smaller doses, 15 minutes was ALOT) I think it is really important for me to try to be attentive of my social media use and how I can go about stepping back and taking breaks.

--

--

Del

This is a blog I use for all sorts of school stuff. Currently Anthropology of Digital Cultures