Dejan Nashoku
2 min readOct 3, 2021

“Prayer”

Somewhere west in the desert
I met Judas.
He said "This ain’t a place for an innocent boy".
Hand in hand I waltzed with my demons,
temptations lurking behind every corner,
for without you
I’m a Christ without hope and faith.

The catacombs were filled with lifeless laughters
as I came down with a fever.
The Devil had my larynx
so I can’t say my prayers.
Tortured in the chambers of his sarcophagus,
I knew this is where I’ll meet my end.

Like a martyr upon a cross
I prayed to our Father who art in heaven,
to allow me to live just one more day,
to see your face again,
for I’m a sinner,
dying upon the burning sand
underneath the red, red sun in the evening.

Will I keep my sanity,
before my soul comes off its axis?
"Tis better to love and lose"
as ignorance is bliss, and truth so cruel.
So many times I had my halo burnt,
betwixt birth and death,
some lessons are never learned.

Throughout the ages
of iron, bronze and stone,
our modern needs we atone
as our carnival had just begun.
As my soul evolves
in my empirical mind,
I hang my sins upon the cross
so I can break this silent distance
between you and I.

I say my prayers,
I won’t let the devil take my name.
I will endure the conquests of the underworld,
because loving you is knowing the face of God.
Lux,
come to our mortal shores,
for I am lost, sailing the seas that have no tides,
to be judged,
O God.

Through the currents conjured by God
that break my fragile boat of faith,
my search for you will go on
to my final drowning breath.
I still remember the night
we watched the pale moon rise
for the very first time,
a sight shared instantly in our minds,
as you carried Venus on one shoulder
and Polaris on the other.

Underneath this glass moon
wrought from my imagination,
I saw hail fall from the sky,
good and evil,
bitter waters and blood of life.
But the winds call my way home
through the whispering grass
for uncertainty becomes more certain,
as my spirit of life remains in your light.
In my fervoured way of hope
I try to find favored rhymes,
from my soul to yours,
wherever love may flow.

Dejan Nashoku

Writer of poetry and short stories. Finding beauty in negative spaces. You're welcome to share them, share your thoughts, opinions and comments as well.