Project 3 3D Modeling

Katherine Dekrey
4 min readApr 18, 2018

--

Mini Cinder Block 3D Printed Model

When we were where told that we would be able to print one of our 3D models for class. I was interested in creating something that could be engaged with beyond its 3D forum.

At first I worked with the idea of creating different whistles, but didn’t believe the file I created would not be read by the 3D printer. After rethinking what I wanted to do I thought a simple forum would be best to print for my first model and that making small cinder blocks would be a lot of fun.

The idea was to create a plastic mold that I would use to create a latex mold. The latex model would be able to be used multiple times to create mini cinder blocks for modeling and play.

Process video of my 3D model being printed

Once the 3D print was done I bought latex that ended up being dried out and needed to be returned. So in the place of latex I used clay and plaster to try out my mold.

When doing this I found that the clay was not able to take on the models shape like I have wanted which created interesting cinder block shapes. I plan to buy new latex and rework the mold so I am able to control the final cinder block forum better.

ROUND 2 3D MODELING WITH ACER

My brother gave me a plant I have had for two year and it had not yet bloomed. Finally, after much anticipation it did! I thought it would be very beautiful to capture the delicate flowers forum at the ACER lab to show my brother and had a 3D model of a temporal flower.

When I scanned the flower in the lab it end up taking 4 hours of work since the forum was too delicate the capture. I did play with the model it was able to produce in mesh mixer after watching a tutorial online, but it wasn’t able to fix the forum in a realistic way.

It was disappointing that it didn’t work, but also thought there was something poetic about not being able to really capture something so fragile.

RHINO 3D MODELING MUSHROOM PEOPLE

For my last Rhino models I had originally wanted to work with more organic forums, but after experiencing some of the troubles that can happen when working in programs like mesh mixer I though it would be fun and great practice to create fauna and flora characters from all walks of life. Below are the different character creations.

Enjoy!

mushroom peeps!

RHINO 3D MODELING SLOTH PALS

RHINO 3D MODELING OCTOPUS SAYING HEY

RHINO 3D MODELING A FABULOUS FLY

--

--