I’m John Delaney and This is How I Work

John Delaney
3 min readSep 5, 2018

--

Location: Duluth, MN

Current Gig: Full-Time Student at the University of Minnesota-Duluth

One word that describes how you work: Diligently

University of Minnesota-Duluth Campus

What apps/software/tools can’t you live without? Why?

I can’t live without Microsoft Office or everything that Google has to offer simply because I have to do a lot of schoolwork and these two things make my life so much easier. Another thing I can’t live without is Spotify because I love listening to music whenever I’m driving or doing homework.

What’s your best time-saving shortcut/life hack?

I have this really slick technique for folding shirts. I can fold almost all my shirts that come out of the laundry in roughly one minute. It saves me so much time because I’d rather be doing other things. Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to do it.

How to fold a shirt in less than 3 seconds

What everyday thing are you better at than everyone else? What’s your secret?

I am very good at memorizing people’s names. I can remember a person’s name for along time even if we only meet once or twice. The key is to say the person’s name in your head over and over in your head and really try hard to remember that person’s face, so the next time you see that person you will be able to remember their name.

What do you listen to while you work?

I like mostly all kinds of music and the type of music I listen too strongly depends on what type of work I am doing. Recently though, I have been listening to this playlist on Spotify called “Jazz Vibes”. It’s a very upbeat playlist that gets you in the right frame of mind.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

The best advice I have ever received was “think before you speak”. My dad told this to me back when I was in middle school and I still use it to this day. It is a great piece of advice that has helped me in numerous situations.

Where do you find inspiration and new ideas?

I get a lot of inspiration and ideas from my best friends in the Twin Cities. Sometimes we’ll just sit down and rattle off a bunch of business ideas and product ideas that we think would be cool.

What’s your favorite quote?

“Failure will never overtake me if my determination to succeed is strong enough”

-Og Mandino

I really like this quote because everyone fails at some point in their life and it’s the people that get up and learn from their failures that usually succeed in life.

--

--