Deldelp Medina
2 min readJul 7, 2024

Tonight I handed in my resignation as co-president of the San Francisco Latinx Democratic Club I do so with a heavy heart. I want to thank the club executive board, our club members, and other folks within the community who were an integral part of the collective success during my tenure. The club went from having a debt that did not allow us to be politically active to one that was deeply engaged. In particular, I want to thank all the volunteers and the workers who helped us get the word out during this last primary.

Living in San Francisco is an expensive and sometimes cruel experience. Being in the club has been a front seat to how democracy is an action practiced. This includes having difficult but needed political and policy conversations about the future of how the city needs to acknowledge communities that have been marginalized, gentrified, and pushed out. So often folks in our communities do come from historically disenfranchised communities and countries. That is combined with the intergenerational trauma brought on by our historic racist policies and our cruel immigration system. This allows for a collective dismissal and discount of our worth and dignity. Despite these barriers, I am always in awe of our community’s ability to connect, communicate, and engage with each other in a way that allows us to build collective power.

I deeply believe in restorative justice as someone who has worked on healing my traumas, including sexual assault. As a survivor, I recognize that no one is the worst thing that they’ve ever done. Yet, to create healing accountability and responsibility has to be at the center of the work. I hope that the club and its leadership do that hard and needed work.

Safety needs to be guaranteed in any political spaces and community spaces. I look forward to continuing to work with our communities ensuring that all sorts of levels of safety are a core part of our values and culture.

I will be dedicating myself to my school San Francisco School Board run. I look forward to working with many other folks within our communities to ensure the educational system stops harming our youth. I want to ensure we are preparing San Fransico’s students with the skills needed in the twenty-first century to ensure they are ready for the leadership of San Francisco. I will advocate to engage folks in skill-building, and in creating a safe and equitable learning environment.

Deldelp Medina

#HustleHouse -Underestimated Founder Supporter #SanFrancisco & #Barranquillera My words are my own