I honestly didnt even notice this spelt this out til we did our first deck

We the Film3

Chris Hackett
2 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

As an actor, I always dreamed of being on stage. I paid my dues, attending school plays and a three-year stay at Stagedoor Manor. However, endless auditions and countless attempts to find marketable roles left me feeling disillusioned. Then, I found my calling. I had always gravitated toward Coney Island and, when a change of ownership threatened to erase its rich history, I picked up a camera and began capturing its essence on minidv video.

From there, I transitioned to behind-the-scenes work, taking as many crew positions as possible, even working for free. Over time, I developed my skills and earned more credits. I saw colleagues make strides in the industry, but I was content to work as a writer and put my desire to direct aside.

The emergence of NFTs and the devastating impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the film industry changed everything. As restrictions lifted and productions resumed, I began exploring new opportunities. I found a group of filmmakers and film enthusiasts called The Film3 Squad, a close-knit community that reminded me of the indie scene I had left behind.

Motivated by a “fear of missing out,” I quietly began working on my own project, “The Deathtakers,” a zombie epic that had been a long-time dream. It soon became apparent that raising funds for film3 was not all that different from traditional film financing. However, I was inspired by the creativity and determination of others in the space and realized the importance of having more than one project, something that could serve as a brand builder and something that was a passion project.

“We the Film3” started as a social media campaign, asking people to share their reasons for coming to film3. After the idea was rejected, I decided to tell the story myself. I teamed up with a fellow filmmaker, Xiao Ling, and began booking interviews with some of the biggest and newest names in film3/web3. After many hours of editing and six revisions, the movie is nearly complete. We’re looking for film3 fans to join us in finishing the film, serving as a focus group to provide feedback on the final touches.

Throughout this process, I’ve learned a great deal about the benefits and pitfalls of film3. While there are unique opportunities for ownership and payouts in the web3 world, there are also significant costs and challenges. I hope to share my experiences and encourage others to join us on this journey.

--

--

Chris Hackett

Writing jump man, lover of cinema, creator of stories and hater of hate. I write because I must create, stumbled here. Like what I see.