Writing for 30 Days

Chris Hackett
2 min readApr 18, 2017

I have so much to cite as to why.

Here:

Thats a straight forward why. Not specifically what this wonderful writer did, but that she did it and learned from it. Some of her best writing relates back to this article and the action of making it, so please go back into her history and read/recommend everything you dig.

I’m due for a challenge. One that doesn’t entail me finding funding for a piece of art, art that I just take stock of my life and cut whatever I can for a while to make it. I need something I can just do and not need a crew to support. I’m also about to do this in my other world, film.

Here:

Now I didnt go to film school. I studied as an actor and then made a decision to reverse my training. My main muscle is as a director because I know what I would want out of a director. The rest Im still putting together. Thats where the video above comes in. After a few weeks or even after the month of writing Im going to begin this journey. I need to regrow my shooting muscle, Ive found that as time has gone on Ive lost what I used to compose shots. When I was raw and untamed I had better ideas and made better choices. Now I go for such safety I find my shots shitty. I need to go back to just trying things out and find that muscle memory again.

Production Value! — Charles (Super 8)

I need to find that thing that made me make stories from nothing. Where I didnt care that the shot wasnt perfect if the take was good. I stopped capturing moments and starting making compositions. I started on tape too and still I threw away a good amount of it. Now I need to do more of it.

Day 1, at the 11th hour in the books. 29 more to go. Welcome to the journey.

--

--

Chris Hackett

Writing jump man, lover of cinema, creator of stories and hater of hate. I write because I must create, stumbled here. Like what I see.