Nike+ Running is now Nike + Run Club

Julien Denaes
2 min readAug 24, 2016

--

Ok, so all my friends know that I’m NOT the most addicted person to sport…specially running. But for the past few weeks I decided to try one more time (maybe the Olympics and seeing all these athletes).

But instead of doing it wrongly, I decided to trust technology and started to use the Nike+ Running app.

There is a “coach” feature from which you can choose milestones (5k, 10k, 21.1 and 42.2//marathon).

After choosing your milestones, the only left to do is following the daily recommendations and alternate between running and walking.

The app update frustration

Long story short, I liked the feature and started to run. Yeeaaaah. But yesterday, the app was updated and the coach progress, shoes mileage and other data just disappeared, generating some frustration on Reddit and Twitter.

Nike politely responded that they published nice PDF files (like this 5k) but that does not look like the program that was part of the previous app version.

On Twitter also, NikeSupport is there:

Of course the new version also offers a “coach” feature but that doesn’t stop people from being frustrated about losing their progress.

I’ve got you covered

My old 5s did not update, so I still have the previous Nike+ Running version. What I plan to do is taking screenshots of all the coach screens (miles +km) and post them ASAP online (I’ll update this post with the links).

Screenshots list:

Update

Nike published a new page with all the old coach plans. It’s available here.

I want a new app, how do I migrate my data?

So you’re so frustrated that you decided to change and switch to a new app. But which one? Strava (seems to be the winner), RunKeeper, Runstatic?

(it reminds me when Google Reader closed, Feedly was suddenly very happy…and overloaded as well)

These running apps all have their advantages and disadvantages and I’m not the best person to compare them, but what thing you might consider in your migration is how you’ll backup your Nike+ Running data. Matt Stuehler developed a tool to export your data so you can then modify them and import them somewhere else

A few export-import guide links for Strava and Runstatic

--

--