Is Meditation Your Silver Bullet To Personal Happiness?

The unexpected benefits of becoming more aware

Dene Ward
4 min readApr 9, 2018

I have been meditating reasonably consistently for the past 4 months and at times it has been a struggle.

There have been many moments where it has felt like a total waste of time, even if it is only 10-15 minutes of my day dedicated to such a thing.

I have written about my initial reasons and experiences with meditation in this earlier article.

I recommend you read it if you are contemplating starting the practice yourself.

Now that I have a few more meditation miles under my belt I have finally realised what it is all about, despite my initial scepticism.

Awareness

Awareness is defintely an overused word when we are talking about meditation so I will get specific with you here.

I am definitely more aware of what is going on around me at any moment in time.

I observe more and I listen more.

With this comes empowerment. I am much quicker to tune out or step out of bullshit conversations or situations.

Conversely, I am more atuned to focus when important situations present themselves.

Meditation has taught me to be more actively aware of what is happening at any moment in time. My mind is actively “switched on” more often.

I can then decide whether to accept or reject the situation based on my lifes compass.

Simple example #1

I regularly listen to the radio when commuting to and from work.

Whenever the radio advertisements were played I just mindlessly let it happen whilst my mind drifted elsewhere. I am now “tuned-in” and I change stations the moment an ad is played as I abhore being force-fed messages that I am not particularly interested in.

These driving-in-my-car-on-my-own moments are about me and my agenda, not anyone elses, so I take control of my environment because I am now more aware.

Simple example #2

If my wife or kids started to talk to me whilst I was on my iPad or laptop I used to multitask the two activities. I now close the laptop lid (or put the iPad down) and give them my full attention. As a result I am much more engaged with them.

I am more connected and respectful as a result.

And perhaps this physical action will one day translate to them doing similar.

Essentially, my bullshitometer is now permanently engaged. I am far more receptive to positive communication and messaging and far less tolerant of the negative (BS).

Appreciative

I pay attention to a lot more of life’s everyday occurrences. As a result, I appreciate the beauty in the simplest things;

  • A tree full of birds chirping in the morning
  • Seeing a teenager cross the road to place their rubbish in a bin
  • Seeing someone on a train or tram talking to the person next to them
  • A beautifully preserved Victorian building surrounded by modern high rise structures
  • A family meal where we are all present and engaged
  • A suburban sports field with immaculately manicured grass
  • The organised chaos of a busy city intersection at peak hour
  • An elderly couple holding hands as they walk down the street
  • My teenage son and daughter laughing and enjoying each other’s company, even if it is for a fleeting moment.

All of these are examples of food for the soul. It is a diet we should all indulge in.

Before meditation, most if not all of the above would have just passed me by as another daily happening.

I am now seeing the world through a wider lens. A lens that allows me to be more appreciative of the simple things.

To see the beauty in the beast.

Is Meditation The Placebo Effect?

Maybe. Maybe not. Who cares what the answer is. All I can attest to is that since I have commenced meditating I am feeling more in tune with my world.

I am happier with the world I operate within.

I am more receptive to wonder and I am more forgiving of flaws.

Why is this the case?

Meditating is training my mind to actively reflect on what is happening at this very moment in time.

It is training my mind to be present in the now and to block out any thoughts about the past or future. The present moment is what I can control right now so maximise this moment.

Hence, I am more aware (see above) and I am more appreciative (see above) of my world in this moment.

I am happier with myself and I am more pleasant to be around. My world is therefore a better place.

This is the true value of meditating.

Call to Action

So my CTA to you is to don’t contemplate, don’t procrastinate, don’t hesitate. Take action and meditate.

PS: If you want to see what sort of leader you might be then take the (fun) 3 Minute “Ugly Truth” Leadership Quiz here.

image by rockstarleadership.com.au

What sort of leader will you be 1. the Rockstar; 2 the Busker; or 3. the Shower Singer? Click here to get started.

--

--

Dene Ward

Workhacks and lifehacks for those who don’t want to be hacks.