Winner Case in Telegram Design Contest 2019

There was a competition for the redesign of calls in the app. This was my first experience in participating in the Telegram contest.

Denis Abdullin
2 min readOct 1, 2019

Telegram is one of the most popular and secure messengers. Several times a year, Telegram organizes contests for designers and developers. As a designer, I had long planned to take part in one of the contests. This happened. There was a competition for the redesign of calls in the app. This was my first experience in participating in the Telegram contest.

Hot summer days. June. I go to work in the office, talk about the competition to my employer. I say that I plan to try to do the work on the weekend. In fact, there were 4 days left until the end of the contest. I thought it was a lot.

My employer supported me, they gave me time to do a project for the competition. It was a lot of work, all ideas were thought up in 1 day, and the implementation of all screens and animations took 3 days and 3 nights. At the same time, I was preparing a presentation.

You can also watch this on Behance

I want to say many thanks to my superiors, these are my good friends. They helped me make a description in English and choose music for the video. They also gave me a lot of time to create a project.

I sent the project in the last hours of receiving the entries. Then the Telegram announced the number of participants, it was 168 people.

And so, 2 months have passed. I wake up in the morning, I receive messages with congratulations, as if it is my birthday today. Then I saw myself on the list of winners, this is a very pleasant feeling. 23 participants won the competition, each participant received $1,000 as a prize.

Thanks to everyone for their support and thanks to Telegram for constantly making such big contests. It was very cool 🔥

--

--