Why I’m trying not to be worried about tomorrow

But it’s a process

Christine Denker
3 min readSep 6, 2018

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. — Matthew 6:34 (NIV)

“silhouette of person on rock” by Grant Ritchie on Unsplash

My husband and I were having a casual Labor Day morning. We slept in, enjoyed hanging out on the deck with our cat, and took a morning nap.

Then we started talking about our upcoming week, and I felt overwhelmed. I sensed my blood pressure rising and my breath getting more shallow. A little later, one of my colleagues sent a group text about meetings this week, and I found myself feeling annoyed.

Here it was, an extra day off.

And here I was thinking about the upcoming week instead of enjoying this day.

While I like outlining my week for optimal productivity, I don’t like to dwell on it.

Instead, I was dwelling on it. I didn’t like how I felt either. My stomach started to twist and churn. I felt sad. I had the desire to leave a job I’ve been at for less than a month.

I slowly took some deep breaths, started reading a book, enjoyed the scent from my eucalyptus and peppermint candle, made a dish for our family gathering in the afternoon, and sat down to write.

In other words, I put tomorrow out of my mind in favor of the present day, because if I dwell on tomorrow and the rest of the week then I lose the precious day I have at hand.

I don’t want to do that.

And I’m sure you don’t either.

So, how do we stop dwelling on the future?

Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment. — Buddha

While there is excitement in future endeavors and adventures, there is a danger in doing so. We miss what’s happening now.

A great way to stop dwelling on what is happening in the future is to first realize that we can’t control what might possibly happen tomorrow. We are in control when that moment comes. Not before it and certainly not after it.

We need to throw ourselves into the present. I find that when I don’t that my mind starts to wander. I start thinking too much and overanalyzing. Again, I don’t like that feeling.

It’s not that we have to keep ourselves overly busy, because there’s danger in doing that as well. At some point we burn out. It’s healthy to relax and recalibrate. Simply sitting down to listen to music, taking a timeout for a guided meditation, or going for a walk are strategies I use when I need to get out of my own head.

Because, I find that when I get consumed with future events I miss out on so much happening now.

I also know it’s a process and takes time. I still worry about the future and I overanalyze the past at times, but I remind myself that anything worth doing is worth doing well and sometimes it’s a matter of taking one step at a time.

Thanks for reading this piece! I’m a high school counselor by day and a writer 24/7. I write about everyday experiences with a positive twist, because that’s how I roll. If my vibe resonates with you, check out my blog Everyday Life Uncluttered and sign up for my newsletter GTI Wednesday. You can find them both here.

--

--

Christine Denker

Podcaster, Writer, Adventure Seeker, and Educator. Always pursuing my true North.