5 Reasons to Switch to Braid on Spinning Reels

Dennis Doyle
2 min readDec 16, 2019

--

Hi there,

I’m Dennis. Today we are talking about high-vis, feminine-colored braid on a spinning rod. That’s right. It’s what I use for most all applications. I’ve really gotten away from using the straight fluorocarbon. And it really doesn’t matter whether you fish every day or you fish once a month, the casual recreational fishermen, I really recommend using this. It just saves so much time and hassle. We’ve all been through when you’re spooling up the fluorocarbon on your spinning reel, you have constant line twist. I can put this on here and fish almost all year with the same braid on my spinning rod, never change it out. All I have to do is put the fluorocarbon leader. I use about a 10 foot fluorocarbon leader. The rod’s about seven foot that you’re going to use. And so I go up, and about halfway back down, almost down to the reel, but not into the reel.

There’s several reasons why I think it gives me an advantage. One, is I can tell exactly what that bait’s doing. When I cast it out there, we’ve all had times where a fish is shaking it or something, you didn’t even know a fish was on there. It was getting mushy, it was swimming off, you didn’t know it. I can tell when I cast it out there, I can see my line laying on the surface, and I know exactly what it’s doing. I know if it’s still sinking to the bottom, if it’s on the bottom, fish has it. And it really cuts down on the stretch, too. I mean it’s braided line, it has zero stretch. 10-pound braid, I can’t even cut it with my teeth if I tried, and so I don’t ever have to worry about it breaking.

You just have to get confidence in your knot. I tie a modified Albright knot. It’s one I have confidence in. A lot of guys use it. You can look it up on Cabelas, check out how to tie it, go out when you’re just messing around and get some confidence in it. And I think you will really like the braid set up on the spinning reel which you can check out here.

--

--