I built cloud databases for my startup — Cigar Chef LLC

Cigar Chef
3 min readSep 4, 2023

--

Cigar Chef workspace on Microsoft Azure

Cigars meet Tech. I know I know, you’re probably wondering, “How in the world will this play out?” It’s unprecedented. Allow me to explain…

As far as we know, much of the world is just catching on to the value of [smoking] cigars. It’s more than just a neatly rolled stogie that was, at one time, meant for prominent people.

It’s a lifestyle choice for many, now.

The cigar world over the last decade has become an increasingly democratized society reaching out across a younger demographic (particularly between the ages of 26–35) to finally be in room(s) with those of affluence. Rooms that under different circumstances would’ve never existed for most people, but under the guise of having a quality cigar and drink, you now have the opportunity to level with someone that could potentially change your career trajectory.

Okay, so what’s tech got to do with it?

There’s no refuting that younger people bring a fresh perspective on life. However, many of us appreciate the experiences of our predecessors. We most of all appreciate what you value.

Growing up, I was glued to my elders and wanted to glean the wisdom they possessed. When I reached adulthood, I saw to it as my responsibility to give back to them for the wisdom they imparted upon me.

During the pandemic in 2020, I was introduced to the world of cigars by a fellow military veteran friend of mine. I’ve heard about cigars and have seen people smoke them at different times before but never explored them until then. It was then when I finally explored the culture in a lounge atmosphere that really sent my curiosity to new heights.

I couldn’t get enough.

In another article, I’ll go into more detail about the journey, move by move. For now, I only want to introduce you to where this curiosity has brought me.

Fast forward to June 2022 where I officially decided to take this newfound passionate hobby and turn it into a business.

After scrapping through about 4 different business models, I finally landed on the business concept of a lifetime — Cigar Chef.

I took my enjoyment for cooking and [preparing] a good time along with my enjoyment for cigars and created a company that’s not just another cigar company, but a cigar company centered around tech.

This means there will be an app, ChatGPT software will be incorporated, and most of all, it will enhance the experience of cigar lounges around the world in ways companies like AirBnb, Starbucks, Uber and OpenTable have done in the market.

Hint: Cigar Chef is the culmination of those tech-centric companies

The project you see above is just the first step 👊🏾.

Thank you for reading and I hope you’ll continue to join me in my journey as a budding tech professional and Founder of Cigar Chef LLC. STICKS UP!!!

--

--