MARRIAGE MOTIVATION

Officer Deon Joseph
2 min readDec 11, 2022

I’m not trying to preach to you. If this message isn’t for you, ignore it.

My message is simple… Don’t Give Up!

I’m seeing too many beautiful unions fall apart over the past few years. Seems like it’s just so easy to throw in the towel these days.

Many of you remember when the pastor said “What God put together, let no man tear it apart.” That message was for those outside of the marriage. But when that man or woman is in the marriage, what hope is there? We used to get married to be one. Now there are so many conditions and distractions driving a wedge between a bond that was supposed to be strong. Many of you aren’t ONE. you are two people in a legal contract.

What are we choosing over a promise? Promises meant something years ago.

Marriage used to mean something special. We used to fight for them. There is no fight anymore. First sign of trouble, first major disagreement and BOOM. It’s over. No compromise, no effort.

I remember when selflessness was the binding agent to people’s marriages. Now we are just allowing selfishness to rip them apart.

Yes marraige is work, but it only works if you work it.

My wife and I have been through many things. But through it all I still look in her eyes and see the promise we made. She is perfectly and imperfectly mine, I am hers. There is nothing wrong with that. I look at the lives we created together and the memories. The tears we cried. The life we built. The pain we overcame together. It’s all wonderful when you come through it because you did it together. I remember even arguing with each other, but still fighting to keep our marraige. Far to many are looking for ways out instead of ways to stay in. I’m looking at three beautiful boys who are equally part of both of us.

Our marriage created those three miracles. It’s beautiful what we did. It’s wonderful what we overcame to 26 years later still fall asleep holding each other’s hand.

Not judging anyone. Of course I don’t know what you are going through in your marriage.

But if there is a chance you can save it, (with the exception of abuse and cheating), go to your prayer closet, and ask for an open heart to salvaging what’s broken and putting it back together.

--

--

Officer Deon Joseph

Sharing stories from my journey as a Skid Row Cop, as well as my thoughts on society.