I Quit. No More Caffeine.

30 Days Without Caffeine: This Is Day One

The Health Guinea Pig
4 min readJan 27, 2023
No, you can’t have it. Photo by Chevanon Photography: https://www.pexels.com/photo/close-up-of-coffee-cup-324028/

Caffeine is the most popular stimulant with over 80% of Americans consuming it daily. Caffeine works by blocking adenosine, the neurotransmitter that tells your brain it’s tired. I’ve decided that I’d rather just be tired and get more sleep at night.

Usually within an hour of waking up, I take at least 50 mg of caffeine. I’m hardcore and I have caffeine tablets, which freaks people out. They act like I’m a crazy addict or something.

When I was an accountant in 2017–2018, I would take caffeine tablets just to help me get out of bed. Sometimes I would take the full 220 mg and still fall back asleep. It was nuts. Of course, I would drink coffee once I got to work too.

Caffeine tablets are a faster way to get caffeine than sipping on coffee. But don’t get me wrong, I love coffee. I love black coffee, black espresso shots, with a touch of cream and sweetness sometimes…

Why would I ever want to go without it?

A few compelling reasons…

Interferes With Sleep

My recent articles on insomnia aren’t just for fun. I’m documenting my health journey to overcome sleep issues, depression, anxiety and much more. I’m like the psychology student that gets the degree to overcome their problems.

The Sleep Foundation reported that caffeine notably reduces the time of slow-wave sleep, which is the stage of deep, restful sleep necessary for our body to function properly. My goal is to get more deep sleep so that my mood and focus are optimal.

Caffeine can impact the onset of sleep and reduce sleep time, efficiency, and satisfaction levels. I often consume caffeine at any time of the day, which does not help my sleep problems.

Decreases performance unless I have more of it

After a few days of caffeine consumption, your body gets used to it and builds a tolerance. Your blood pressure, exercise performance, and mental alertness and performance all build a tolerance. It takes a certain amount of caffeine just to feel normal again.

It intensifies anxiety

This one is fun! One time I was stressed out about a boss at work — she gave everyone at the office a ton of anxiety. I couldn’t drink coffee in the mornings like usual. It was too much for my nerves. If I’m about to perform or I’m nervous about a situation, I often avoid caffeine for as long as I can since it makes me feel more anxious.

Make me hungry out of nowhere

This one isn’t typical since caffeine is usually known to suppress appetite… but some people feel a quick, random urge to eat after having caffeine. Sometimes I get shaky and cram food in my mouth as quickly as possible.

This study from the Annals of Internal Medicine journal suggests that I may not actually be hypoglycemic with consistently low blood sugar levels, but that caffeine may make me feel hypoglycemic.

“Many otherwise healthy people who report symptoms suggestive of reactive hypoglycemia in fact ‘feel hypoglycemic’ when plasma glucose is still in the normal range. This double-blind study suggests that caffeine is one factor that may modulate the perception of hypoglycemia.

Researchers induced hypoglycemia in eight healthy young adults by infusing glucose and insulin on two separate occasions — once after drinking diet cola with 400 mg of caffeine and once after drinking caffeine-free cola.

When plasma glucose levels dropped from 90 mg/dl (5 mmol/l) to 68 mg/dl, subjects felt hypoglycemic symptoms only after they had ingested caffeine. When glucose levels further declined to 50 mg/dl, symptoms occurred after either beverage, but were worse after caffeine ingestion.

Epinephrine, norepinephrine, and cortisol responses to falling plasma glucose were significantly greater after caffeine ingestion.”

Less hydration

Even if coffee itself isn’t dehydrating, I simply don’t drink enough water when I have coffee throughout the day. I love my coffee! (I have almost convinced myself to quit my quitting and go get a Starbucks.)

It takes intention and effort to drink enough water throughout the day. I don’t have the discipline when I’m on a coffee binge.

This Is Only The Beginning

So I’ve wrapped up my first 24 hours without caffeine. Despite a lack of sleep and some warning signs of incoming withdrawal headaches, it hasn’t been that bad. Stay tuned for posts about my progress.

If this article resonates with you and you want to keep up with my experiments and research, please subscribe to my blog here.

I plan to give away my cutting edge report on insomnia called “Fall Asleep in 60 Seconds Without Sleep Meds” for free to my blog subscribers. Right now it’s only $7 and you can purchase it here.

--

--

The Health Guinea Pig

Unfiltered look at what it really takes to be a healthy American in the 21st Century. Read my simple experiments for a better life — use what you want.