If The Shoe Fits

Victor Robinson
2 min readMay 30, 2020

In these troubling times, we must remember three important things:

  1. Self-preservation can be a key to survival
  2. Silence and turning a blind eye are antonyms
  3. Our actions must lead to a resolute goal

While “We must always take sides. Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented.” Elie Wiesel

We must ask :

What am I destined to do that no one else can? What legacy (message) must I leave? When should I Fight, Plan, or take Flight? Does this action align with my life goals?

These are personal questions. “Be strategic and refrain from making an emotional decision that could restrict you from making an impact which only you can provide.” Imagine had we lost Congressman John Lewis.

For years many of our Guide Post (Ancestors/Activist/Strangers) fought for their rights so that we may have the privilege to prevail, knowing that they might not live to see their fruits come to harvest. It is for this reason one must ask:

Don’t merely ask, “Who would I rather be”…. Dr. King, a Freedom Rider, Malcolm X, a busboy at the counter, a businesswoman paving the way… This list goes on and on and on. I challenge you to discover:

“Who does society need me to be?” “How can I make the biggest impact ?”

--

--