Day 3: Productivity Hacking: How to find all 24 of the hours in a day

Desiree Stennett
3 min readJun 4, 2016

--

Time management was not a skill I was blessed enough to be gifted with. And to make it worse, I was the kind of person who would buy calendars and planners then never, ever use them.

Just ask my old boss at my old job who, when I told her I was quitting to run my own businesses, asked me if I was sure… After all, she would no longer be there to reminding me (nag me) about managing my time.

At the time the over confidence that lives at the beginning of every cycle of procrastination was not at all worried. But after several very stressful nights with zero sleep followed by crabby mornings (I’m not friendly when I don’t sleep) I figured it out!

This was the problem I was having: I was juggling a handful of clients all at once. I was overwhelmed every single day because I just had so much work to get done and every bit of it was priority one.

So what would I do when I had 1,000 Priority 1 things to do all at once? I did the obvious thing. I procrastinated. Netflix, Facebook, Medium (side eye), Twitter and sleep. Because what else is there to do.

Then, one holy day I figured it all out. I did something so simple that you’re going to read it and wonder why I even bothered to write this. (And of course, the answer is: Because I said I would write something on Medium everyday and I’m trying to do my part here… and also because it took me 27 years to figure this out so maybe one of my 3 readers (crying while laughing) hasn’t figure this out yet either.)

The simple and obvious solution to all my problems

Every Sunday (not actually every Sunday but most of them) I sit down and write down every single thing I need to do that week. Beside each item I write an estimation of how much time I need to get it done. Professional. Personal. Every single thing I can think of for the entire week.

From there, I open my Google calendar (my calendar of choice) and find a time for everything. If it’s not on the calendar, it doesn’t get done.

That’s it. I told you it was simple.

For me, it’s no so much about the schedule itself though. It’s more psychological than anything.

Here’s what it does for me: When I have 1,000 Priority 1 things to get done, I used to try to do it all at once. I would start every task and finish none of them. Then as deadlines get closer and closer, I’d go into a dazed panic.

Netflix.

Facebook.

Medium.

Twitter.

Sleep.

Then I’d stay awake for two or three days working like a crazy woman. Not the most sophisticated system but it was mine and it “worked.”

Now, mentally, I’m actually able to start one task and finish it!

And when task 2 pops into my head, I acknowledge that it is super important and absolutely must get done. BUT (drum roll please) THERE IS ALREADY A SPACE FOR IT ON MY CALENDAR!!!

I don’t need to start it right now in the middle of task one. I don’t even need to think about it because it has it’s own little place on my calendar. I don’t need to panic.

This little thing took such a weight off my shoulders. It helped me breathe.

Most importantly, I suppose, it helped me find time to take on new clients.

And new clients = new money.

Basically.

--

--

Desiree Stennett

Freelance journalist. Copywriter. Single-origin coffee drinker. Documenting my entrepreneurial experience. desiree.stennett@gmail.com