Starting QuikForce

Desmond Lim
2 min readNov 11, 2015

--

The idea for QuikForce came up in the summer of 2014. My father has been a mover for the past 35 years and I grew up helping him to move. Both my parents barely finished 4th grade, and I am the first in my family to go to school and come to the US. Growing up, I would see my father manually looking for jobs in the newspaper, calling up customers, and taking orders. I would also see him use pen, paper, and telephone to plan for his jobs. He never understood how to use technology, or never had the right tools to plan for his moves.

In my first year of school at Harvard University, I came up with the idea to help movers just like my father do their job better. I founded QuikForce, together with my friends from MIT and Princeton to create a software that will automatically help moving companies book, schedule, and to process their moves. It was exciting to me to be able to use software and technology to help other movers just like my father. To better understand the business in Boston and Miami, where we are based off, I joined every single move for the first 100 orders that came through. That really helped us to better know how the movers think, work, and felt about our software, QuikBoard.

QuikForce has now launched for the past 3 months, and things have been going well. We have grew to a team of 7 people, am currently incubated out of Harvard innovation lab, and have a strong and committed team from top schools in the greater Boston area inducing Harvard, MIT, Northeastern University, Boston University, and UMass Amherst. It has been a great and rewarding journey for me and we are only just starting!

--

--