Future Tense : Going to or Will? (Quick Comparation)

Dessy CL
5 min readDec 19, 2023

--

What’s the difference between will and going to? Which one do we use to talk about the future? After reading this post, you’ll know which one to use.

Future tense with going to and will

Briefly, we use :

  • Going to for plans decided before the moment of speaking.
  • will for spontaneous plans decided at the moment of speaking

But, that’s not all.

I’ve studied some good grammar books and taken some key points.

So, if you’re struggling with this future tense, this quick guide is for you.

Going to

When to use going to

We use going to :

1. For future actions or decisions made before the time of speaking

For example :
We’re going to go on vacation this July, so I have to finish this project as soon as possible.
(The speaker already has a plan about the vacation.)

2. For making predictions based on current evidence we’ve already seen

For example :
Oh, it’s already 6 p.m.! It’s going to be dark soon.
(The speaker knows this because, in general, it’s dark at 6 p.m. and has likely observed this pattern before.)

You’re going to love this soup.
(The speaker can see that delicious soup on the table.)

The tree is too high. He’s not gonna make it.
Look at that girl on the rooftop. She’s going to jump! Somebody call 911!

Note : We say gonna instead of going to.

You may hear it a lot in casual talk, songs, or informal writing.

How to form future with going to

Going to comes between to be (is, am, are) and base form of a verb.

Will

When to use will

We use will :

1. For decisions made at the moment of speaking or quick decisions

For example :
This dress looks bad on me. I’ll change.
Thanks for warning me. I’ll call the cops.
If you keep behaving badly, I’ll tell your mother.

Note : ‘ll is the contraction of will.

2. For something uncertain or non-final decision

We use probably, maybe, think, expect, hope to express the uncertainty.

For example :
She probably won’t be home tonight.
I think I’ll buy some flowers at the corner.
I expect she’ll arrive sooner for the party.
We hope you’ll tell good things about our service to your friends.

This movie is really great. You’ll love it.
(There is no concrete evidence that the person will love the movie.)

Note : won’t is the contraction of will not

3. To talk about predictions about the future when there is no firm evidence or hopeful predictions

For example :
In 10 years, this city will be a different place.
(Nobody knows what it will be like.)
I’ll get higher sales this quarter.

4. For general fact in the future which doesn’t depend on personal judgement.

For example :
I’ll be 30 this year.
(Nobody can change age.)
There’ll be an eclipse tomorrow.

5. To offer something at the moment of speaking

For example :
You look cold. I’ll make you some hot chocolate.
You seem busy. I’ll go get the kids.

6. To promise someone

For example :
We’ll be there by six. Don’t worry.
If we get an update about your application, we’ll let you know immediately.
Don’t worry, I won’t tell anyone about this.

When to use shall

Shall is occasionally used with I or we instead of will in formal English.

It’s more common in British English to ask for a decision, or make offers or suggestions.

For example :
Shall I wait for you at the office or shall we meet at home?
Your room is so hot. Shall I open the window for you?
Shall we go to the concert or the movie?

How to form future with will

Will comes between subject and base form of a verb.

Which one to use : going to or will ?

To understand the clear difference between going to and will, let’s compare these sentences :

I’m going to take a Cambridge exam again tomorrow.
(I’ve arranged this a long time ago.)
I’ll get a higher score this time.
(I’m making a hopeful prediction. A higher score is not something that is arranged.)

We’re going to take a bus once we arrive at the airport.
(We have a clear plan.)
Oh no! There’s no bus. We’ll take a taxi. Let’s go.
(We decided at the moment because of a sudden situation.)

I lost my earbuds yesterday and I’m going to buy another pair at the mall.
(I have a plan to buy earbuds.)
Oh, they have a discount on these earbuds! I think I’ll buy them.
(I’ve just seen them at the mall and decided to buy them at that moment.)

Conclusion

Briefly, here’s the difference between going to and will :

Future tense with going to and will

Grammar book reference

DK. English for Everyone: English Grammar Guide: A Comprehensive Visual Reference. DK Publishing (Dorling Kindersley), 2016.

Thomas, Barbara, et al. Grammar and Vocabulary for First and First for Schools Book with Answers and Audio. Cambridge University Press, 2015.

What can I do for you?

Grammar can be overwhelming sometimes. But with consistent practice, you can beat it.

Grab your pen and notebook, then make your own examples as you read this post.

Even better, connect with me here and throw me your questions. I occasionally update this article, so subscribe here to receive more updates.

If you have any doubts, just let me know!

--

--