Sad Face Emoji

Destinee Sanders
2 min readJun 4, 2017

Today, as I walked out of the Central library here in Downtown Dallas, I had a moment. I saw the cop car first. Next was the cop with the highlighter green gloves on. What I saw next made my heart drop into my stomach.

Dallas we have a problem

I moved to the Downtown Dallas area in April of this year. Though that is a relatively short time period, I have had many days similar to what I experienced today. Lying in his vomit convulsing as others sat calmly around him.

It was chilling to watch. The cop was standing a good distance from him. He flopped like a fish. He had dreads and his clothes were dirty. He was my brother and I couldn’t even see his face.

I felt so broken. I walk these streets everyday. The number of zombies I see breaks my heart. People just milling about or sleep in the streets. A very heavy feeling comes over me whenever I pass by Park Avenue. There, where Canton, Marilla and Park Avenue meet, I always send prayers up. For all the souls.

In remembrance

I almost missed the light that gave me the right to cross the street because I was shook to the point of immobility. I made it to my car literally holding back the tears. I took a deep breath and went home. I had to remind myself this is reality. I remembered I should do my part. I should mind my business so that I may be able to help my brothers and sisters who I see everyday in pain.

Driving home I passed the front of the library. The ambulance had arrived. I felt peace knowing he would receive some form of care. Then I remembered what it cost me to ride in an ambulance before. I wondered how much would the bill for this man’s ride be.

Let me return to minding my own business. ✌💜📈

@ Destineees

Destinee Sanders

Destinee es

--

--

Destinee Sanders

I am here to speak, write, and act according to the word in order to guide future generations to an improved quality of life.