Baerbel Schoenauer
2 min readJul 23, 2016

--

Germany in fear

Yesterday the public life in Munich, Germany, was shut down. Roughly 1.5 million people of that huge city were asked to stay locked in their homes, to avoid going onto the streets as the police searched for up to three shooters who killed nine persons in a busy shopping mall. The victims are almost all children who met friends at a fast food restaurant.

Now we know that it had been one single young man who shot to death those children and injured several others. The transportation with public buses, trains and other vehicles resumed their work today.

I live in a suburb of Munich. Yesterday I drove home with my three kids, when my oldest daughter read the news of the attack aloud from her smart phone. I was shocked. I still am, and so are my fellow citizens.

We have been several times at exactly this shopping mall where the tragedy unfolded. My kids were asked by their friends on WhatsApp if they were ok. Their grandparents called with tears in their voice if we were ok. Even a friend of my former church in Westfield, NJ, USA, where I lived for 5 years until last fall, sent me an email with much love and prayers.

I am touched by the recognition, empathy and love from those who showed that they care. So I'd like to thank them all.

I am just wondering why in this world the reward for welcoming thousands of refugees, is becoming victims of violence. Why are people hurting instead of helping each other? Why did one man in France kill over 80 persons with a truck some days ago, why does a young man slaughter passengers of a train near Wuerzburg, Germany, with an ax? What good are these actions for?

In times like these, no matter where you live, the most important thing to do is trusting God. Only God can give us peace.

“And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” ‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:7‬ ‭

It’s time to turn back to God, for He is love. “The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.” ‭‭1 John‬ ‭4:8‬ ‭

May God bless you.

Greetings from Munich, Germany.

--

--