a human having a human experience; on belonging, vulnerability, and love.

Dev Shirah Suchin
2 min readJul 29, 2024

--

unexpectedly - a feeling of belonging;

of being seen in my essence,

witnessed in my becoming,

held in my humanity.

surprisingly - surrounded by friends;

I never knew existence could be this sweet, when I opened my heart

to share in the experience of life’s beauty,

amidst the ongoing sorrow.

vulnerability - it stretches the boundaries;

of my comfort, and with fluidly shifting trepidation I realize:

fear is protective, but I have the courage within me already -

to expand past the box I previously existed within,

and stand firmly, upon the ever-shifting grounds of Self -

momentarily fully myself.

beauty abounds - and I see it;

in the eyes, faces, bones, movements, and resonance of my community -

we are alive in this moment, this space, this time,

to experience our individual unfolding within the collective -

what a gift it is, to be alive among you.

thank you.

thank you.

thank you all.

[Dear friends,

This one is for you :)

I’ve said it all already, but I’m going to continue to metaphorically shout it from the rooftops (or, more accurately, shout it into the void-like abyss of the internet) because feelings are what make life beautiful. My heart is full of love for you all. Thank you for the parts and pieces of yourselves that you have authentically and openly shared with me. Thank you for being in my life. I am grateful for the gift of being part of the continued unfolding of our community. See you very soon (I hope!), or in October :)

-Dev]

© 2024 Dev Shirah Suchin. All rights reserved.

--

--

Dev Shirah Suchin

Exploring the chaos & wonder of existence through poetry. I act as a conduit for the trees; they speak to me & I attempt to interpret their magic.