Deven Bhagwandin
1 min readMay 21, 2018

--

Angela Blanchard, I really like this piece. Very poetic. I’ve been struggling in the last few years, months, weeks, days to figure out what is really at the heart of our nation’s policymaker’s reluctance to address these situations. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with this.

I’ve never felt so helpless and frustrated with our government as I do right now. FYI…I live 12 miles from Santa Fe High School here in Texas. It’s been insulting to read some of the statements the Lt. Governor made at the press conference the day of the shooting and during his interviews over the weekend. Saying that schools need less doors and that abortions and video games are the causes of school shootings. All the while refusing to acknowledge guns have anything to do with shootings at all.

What would make our lawmakers step up and finally do what is right like other country’s lawmakers have done?

--

--

Deven Bhagwandin

Freelance writer since 2013. Sharing, learning, and writing.