Safe to Fail

Dev Leader
Dev Leader
Published in
2 min readJan 19, 2024

--

I strongly believe that one of the best ways that many of us learn is by making mistakes. And I say “best” as in “it sticks the most effectively”. I don’t mean best as in “I am so happy I have to fail to learn”.

But that’s mostly how it seems to be.

As a software engineering manager, I take this to heart with my teams. It’s important for all levels to ensure that they have a safe place to fail. They need a safe place to:

  • Experiment
  • Ask questions
  • Try new things out
  • Learn from breaking production

All of these things are critical for learning and getting better. The junior software engineers need this so that they can find their bearings. The more senior software engineers need this so that they can break out of their comfort zone to hit their stride.

As soon as people become afraid of failing, they stop growing. Many people think about this from a personal development perspective, but it also applies to building software.

Of course, as software engineers we want to be taking calculated risks. But if we’re not taking any risks we’re not growing.

Want More Dev Leader Content?

  • Follow along on this platform if you haven’t already!
  • Subscribe to my free weekly software engineering and dotnet-focused newsletter. I include exclusive articles and early access to videos:
    SUBSCRIBE FOR FREE
  • Looking for courses? Check out my offerings:
    VIEW COURSES
  • E-Books & other resources:
    VIEW RESOURCES
  • Watch hundreds of full-length videos on my YouTube channel:
    VISIT CHANNEL
  • Visit my website for hundreds of articles on various software engineering topics (including code snippets):
    VISIT WEBSITE
  • Check out the repository with many code examples from my articles and videos on GitHub:
    VIEW REPOSITORY

--

--