Cookie

Kersten Dewey
4 min readSep 6, 2017

--

Final Idea & Recipe: Cinnamon & Toast with a Crunch Cookies

The Cinnamon & Toast with a Crunch Cookies are the perfect way to combine two of my favorite foods; cookies and cinnamon toast. Adding the toasted piece of bread to the top of the cookie gives it a unique quality and extra crunch. Some extra cinnamon and the Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cereal is the perfect way to top it off!

Sugar Cookie Base- 2 Large eggs, 2.5 cups of All-purpose Flour, 1 tsp of Baking Soda, 1 cup of Sugar, 2 tsp of Vanilla Extract, & 3/4 cup of Butter (salted).

Place 1.5 inch balls of cookie batter about 2 in apart on a cookie sheet. Once all placed, sprinkle cinnamon on top of cookies and press down with palm of your hand.

Bake cookies at 350*F and after 5 minutes of baking, place a circular bread piece coated with butter on top of the cookie and continue baking for 5–8 minutes.

Once cookies are golden brown and the bread is lightly toasted, remove cookies from the oven and top with cinnamon sugar and Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cereal.

Idea Generation: Brainstorming

Idea 1 Test: Cinnamon Toast Cookies

Sugar cookie base (same recipe as above) with bread piece on top (used same procedure stated above), and topped with cinnamon sugar.

Testing subjects enjoyed the cookie and concluded they liked the texture of the cookie and the idea of the toasted bread on top of the cookie, however, they said the cinnamon sugar on top didn’t give enough cinnamon flavor. Overall, they felt there could be a way to take it a step up.

Idea 2 Test: Peanut Butter, Banana, & Pretzel Cookies

Peanut Butter cookie base, coated with peanut butter, and topped with a pretzel and a slice of banana on top.

All subjects, except for 2, liked this cookie. The texture of the cookie base was approved, along with the overall idea and flavor of the cookie. The 2 subjects that didn’t enjoy it just simply don’t like the banana and peanut butter combination. Overall as a group, we decided it was just a basic cookie and didn’t have a very interesting aspect to it.

Choice of cookie:

I concluded that the cinnamon flavor would satisfy a larger majority of people as apposed to the banana and peanut butter combination. I also decided to choose the cinnamon cookie because of the exciting adjustments I came up with!

Another concern with the peanut butter banana cookie was the peanut butter becoming too messy when put in a plastic bag, and also the slice of banana staying fresh.

Iteration:

To add more cinnamon flavor to the cookie, I decided to add cinnamon to the dough by sprinkling some over the cookie balls and then pressing down with the palm of my hand.

I got the inspiration for the cookie from one of my top breakfast choices — toast with butter and cinnamon sugar on top, which I already contributed to the cookie itself. However, I needed a way to add more cinnamon flavor while also adding something special. I decided to add one of the most favorited cereals, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, to the top of the cookie.

I had people try the cookie after my alterations and they loved it!

Timeline: I plan on brainstorming as much as possible for the next couple days. Once I have 2 possible cookies (hopefully by tomorrow (Wed.) or Thursday) I will make trial cookies and have people try each one and discuss how to make them better. After testing and experimentation, I will hopefully have one cookie chosen by the end of the weekend. I will make then final cookies probably the day before or two days before we have to bring them into class.

--

--