Networking Your Way To Opportunities — The Main Ingredient to Building Your Network on LinkedIn

Dewi Madden
5 min readMar 19, 2022

--

I remember back in 2019, I had just graduated and had no idea what I was doing or where I was going. I remember sitting in a Starbucks one day sipping my English Breakfast tea and pondering on where I would be in the next 6 months, doubtful over whether I would secure a job or figure out what I wanted to do. On top of that, I didn’t have much experience to go with my applications aside from university projects and a summer internship (which I hated!). I sat there with a lot of questions, in need of a mentor and someone to give me advice and insight in to the world of an Engineer, but where would I even start? It’s not like there is a social network for professionals that allows me to message anyone in the world, in any industry at the touch of a button is there? Oh wait…

LinkedIn! Yes that’s right, one of those stereotypical “you should get a LinkedIn profile” posts. But seriously, you should get a LinkedIn profile, not because that’s what everyone else is doing, but because of the one thing it does incredibly well — building relationships with other professionals.

LinkedIn is a networking tool disguised as a social media platform. LinkedIn has changed over the years and become more and more like Facebook but its value has grown exponentially over the years. A networking tool provides a means to build connections with a range of people across a spectrum of industries. Want to find a Senior User Experience (UX) Designer at Apple to find out about how they got the job and grew their portfolio? Then find them on LinkedIn and send them a message (within reason), but don’t stop there.

Networking? Where do I even start with that? What should I say?

Well I am glad you asked. Often at times people think LinkedIn messaging and networking is as simple as sending a bunch of spam messages and hoping for the best. People go in to it looking for what that person can do for them, instead of building a solid networking relationship built on mutual interest in each others work. You may want to work at the company they work for and there is no harm in asking for advice or pointers towards opportunities, but don’t stop there, take a genuine interest in the person.

I can’t emphasise this enough. During my final summer before graduating I spent every single day, from 9–5pm talking to Engineers from all over the world asking for advice and taking an interest in the work they do, why they do it and what they seek to achieve. I got an amazing chance to gather insights across a range of industries and gain feedback and pointers along the way. I connected with hundreds of incredibly interesting people in Singapore, Malaysia, the UK, United States and Australia, all the while sitting in Starbucks listening to Lo-Fi and sipping tea, and this was before the COVID-19 pandemic hit!

From this, I gained 3 interviews, got put forward for a range of roles, and still keep in touch with people to this day. Many people I have had the privilege to call personally, and find out what drives them. It is my aim to one day meet these people and take them for a coffee and thank them for their support they gave me whilst I navigated the early weeks and months of being a new graduate.

Networking is a constant activity. If you do it for the wrong reasons people will figure you out very quickly. But, if you go in to a conversation and LinkedIn message with the desire to genuinely take an interest in the other person and the job they do you will end up building a valuable connection, and over the long run an immensely valuable network.

Don’t Be Shy — Send That Message

Find someone doing the exact job you want? Don’t think you can message them because you are just an inexperienced wannabe? Well see it this way — that person you want to connect with was once an inexperienced wannabe too, so you have that in common.

To start with, start with a personal message like this for the profiles shown:

“Hey Elika, I hope this message finds you well! I saw you worked at Apple as a UX Designer which sounds incredibly cool! How are you enjoying the job? I’m really keen on pursuing the same type of role in the future but just seeking out chances to connect and learn about other people’s experiences and insights. Would be great to connect!”

Not only is this message genuine but you’re being up front whilst showing you are interested in the person. It doesn’t have to be daunting. This person might respond tomorrow, next month or in the next hour, giving you an opportunity to get the insights that will help you navigate the next steps in your career.

Conclusion — Genuine Interest

Networking can be a daunting pursuit if seen in the wrong light. Instead, take a genuine interest in people you want to connect with on LinkedIn, send them a message and see what happens. Keep doing this for everyone that has the job you would like, regardless of the company. Search the job title you want on LinkedIn (like below) and connect with everyone you can find in the area you want to live, or in your local town or city.

Give it a shot and see where it leads!

--

--

Dewi Madden

Autonomous Systems Engineer writing about life, work and providing opinion pieces on AI ethics, international affairs, technology and productivity.