Look At What We’ve Done To Our Earth

Dorcas Olatunji
1 min readMar 20, 2019

--

Photo under CO0 domain

Look at the trees,

They spring up from the ground

Not a bother to mankind

I’m afraid my children won’t experience

Their green magic

They won’t know how they smell.

Look at the sky,

It’s vast blue brightness

Full of impurities of the ones we’ve placed

I’m afraid my children won’t try to touch it

The choking gray clouds they view

They won’t remember ever seeing blue.

Look at the ocean,

It houses so many creatures

Provides nutrients for even the smallest things

I’m afraid my children won’t feel it’s coolness

It’s welcoming embrace

They won’t realize it’s true splendor.

Look at this beautiful world

We’re wasting it resources

I’m afraid our children won’t know

The wonders of nature,

Look at what we’ve done to our earth.

My Inspiration: This past year, so many activists have stepped up for the environment. The fate of our futures and the coming generation rests on policies and decisions of powerful people. Fellow advocates are crying out for our earth, for the immediate change that needs to occur, before there is nothing left.

--

--