David Fuhriman
3 min readAug 13, 2014

Dear RJMetrics,

I have had a crush on you since I first laid eyes on you in March 2010 when Robert wrote about Chatroulette being made up of 13% perverts. What caught my attention really wasn’t Chatroulette or perverts. 2009 and 2010 were intense years of laying a foundation for the next few years of my career.

Some advice I received a year earlier really changed my perspective — “If you wouldn’t do your job for free, then quit” I was in the middle of figuring out what that meant for me in 2010 which led to working on a couple of side start-up projects- and so when I clicked on the link to RJMetrics I was inspired.

The guest article took me through to your site where I created an account that same day and checked out the sample cohort analysis.

The site was a little raw, but I was intrigued and a bit jealous that I was not a part of RJMetrics.

I saw the potential of the site; I saw the value for the projects that I was working on- and understood that RJMetrics had a potential to reach across the web and perhaps across multiple data sources. I exchanged a couple emails with Jeff Shumer, but my start-up wasn’t ready to use the software.

I later exchanged a couple emails with Jake Stein in June 2010 and even scheduled a call. I was like a shy High School girl- when I didn’t answer the call on June 15, 2010. But, I saved the message. And never called back.

I have been continually following your progression from a distance- checking in from time to time. Seeing the product change and the staff grow. Reading blog posts. Seeing the closed funding rounds. The updated logo changes, even though the new one does resemble tighty whiteys. I was excited to read about the new office, but also understood not wanting to change your culture as you grow.

Yesterday I saw that you are planning on making your first finance team hire. Maybe now is my chance to become involved.

So maybe you are wondering about me; Can I kick it? Yes I can. For the past year I have been the CFO at the start-up Mission Edge, helping provide accounting and finance services to non-profits in San Diego. I started my own data analytics company, saving money for medical imaging facilities. I helped grow a finance department, as we grew from $20M to $160M in revenue over 5 years. Before that I owned and sold a few companies, and earned the CPA and an MBA. There are few CPAs that have an interest and own books such as: “Now You See It: Simple Visualization Techniques for Quantitative Analysis” or “Visual Display of Quantitative Information” and Tufte’s other works. Besides, I hear that we share some mutual friends (me on the left)

Baby you, you got what I need! Here’s to hoping we can be more than friends.

Unlisted