How I got my summer internship at Zscaler!

Dhanyahegde
2 min readSep 21, 2023
Zscaler

I recently completed my summer internship at Zscaler and it was an amazing experience! It was my first foray into the industry and it was wonderful! Okay so I know why you are here, probably Zscaler has come to your college for placements and you want to know about the entire process and how to go about it or maybe want to apply off-campus.. Since a lot of you dm ed me on LinkedIn so let’s straight away jump into how the process was like..

I would be explaining my experience for the UI DevTest role since the OA’s and interviews are very role specific…

It was on-campus for me and it visited our college in May for summer internship..

So the OA had 1 DSA question (which was to be solved only in Java or JavaScript) and 1 JavaScript implementation question along with 7 MCQ’s on HTML,CSS and JavaScript.

Next was the technical interview which lasted for about 45 minutes, where I was asked 2 questions each on DSA and SQL. I was asked to go over my resume and explain my projects briefly and my contribution to the project if it was a group project. I was asked the real world applications of OOPS and some basic concepts about that. I was asked to write the syntax of various UNIX commands and asked to explain what the command does. I was asked to write the syntax of git commands too and explain them. Difference between cloning and forking, pull request and push, how to resolve merge conflicts etc.

My 2nd tech interview was pretty lengthy (1 hr 10 min), it started with my introduction, then 2 questions each on DSA and SQL like the previous round. I was then asked to go over my resume and explain my projects in depth. I was asked a lot of questions on my hackathon project and what was my role in it. Remember to know the in and out of your projects and do not bluff if you don’t know something. Then I was asked error codes in computer networks, some C conceptual questions, CRUD operation in postman, Discussion about API’S used in my projects, discussion about my achievements, skills etc.

Since it was for summer internship, there was no HR round..

A week after both my technical interviews I got a mail that I have been selected!

Halfway into the internship PPO’s were announced based on performance and I got a PPO!

If you enjoyed reading and learnt something about the process do motivate me by clapping for my story so that I can share many more experiences…

Thanks!

--

--

Dhanyahegde

Passionate about Tech and inclusion and diversity of women in tech!