Fearless moral inventory

David Hayes
2 min readJul 19, 2016

--

Sometimes I think I’m at some mountain peak in terms of my own personality, thinking that I got a good chunk figured out, therefore, I have some grandiose authority when it comes to addressing the issues of the day…
And that, to some extent — is true; however the peak of one mountain is always the bottom of the next, and recognizing the moat in my own eye and atoning for my own mistakes while doing everything I can to make amends and learn from those mistakes, is the greatest contribution I can give to my country.
I am very passionate about addressing to the best of my abilities- the injustices, the oppression and the inequality that currently plagues the USA, but it is always a sobering reminder to come back to ground zero, our inner temple, where we can take our own moral inventory and see how we are doing; while we are externally fighting for the voiceless in our midst, how are we internally -and at home- addressing the voiceless in our household? how are we dismissive of a family member? when we are angry at certain political figures for being divisive and despicable in their rhetoric, the question begs, who are we ourselves not forgiving?
Let there be peace on Earth and let it begin with me… for all that America is, is but a collection of all of us, as we remove the hardened layers over our own hearts, as we lay down the weapons in our own minds, then we can more powerfully harness the power by which we can extinguish the unnecessary suffering of the people in our country and in our world.

Godspeed.

--

--