Volunteer Tracking

Rachel Dhia
8 min readDec 5, 2022

--

assalamualaikum warohmatullahi wabarokatuh. Hello all back again with my article. So in this article I want to share my experience with volunteer tracking. Yes, as the name itself says volunteer tracking, we become volunteers, but the difference is that we find the place ourselves. And yes, if asked about the experience, it’s really exciting. There are many benefits from volunteer tracking itself what else for me.

Basically, I am a person who rarely goes out using public transportation. In volunteer tracking, we are told to go to the place where we are voluntarily using public transportation and find our own route.Yes, if I asked myself how I felt, I was really surprised and felt happy because I came to know and have the courage to travel alone, yes, even though I was volunteering, I was not alone.

So those who participated in the volunteer tracking were grade 11 students, because there were 20 grade 11 students so we were divided into 4 groups. And of course there is a guide to watch over us but the guide himself doesn’t help us find routes and we really have to look and ask ourselves. and that’s the challenge. It’s not just volunteering, we also get an assignment from the school to interview 5 other people and that’s one person, and also this article is one of the assignments given from the school. yes it is.

So, guys, I’m in group 4 of 4 groups. my group is serasiva. consists of 5 members namely Sifa, Sakura, Ansela, Adeeva, and me.

Yes this is my group bay the way we took a photo on the second day.

Okay so I want to tell you from the beginning of my journey on the first day. On Sunday, at 1 o’clock to be exact, we started leaving from IDN to Alun-alun Jonggol using an angkot. and after that we took the angkot again to Cibujang (Cibubur Junction). and from Cibujang we go to Jakarta Slipi. the question is why don’t we go directly to our volunteers? yes because we are leaving in the afternoon and possibly arriving in the afternoon or evening and we have to find a place to stay, so we are staying at IDN Slipi in Jakarta.

when we are on the way we also sell sales that we have prepared. oh yeah, I forgot to tell you, so apart from voluntarily we also sell, my group sells a few snacks, like chips and potato chips, and we also sell tissue, also richease noodles, but also rice and side dishes, the side dishes themselves vary. shredded rice with seasoned chicken, shredded rice with green chili chicken, and shredded rice with catfish.

But when we sell on a sales trip we don’t sell too much because time is tight. we arrived at IDN Slipi around 4.30 pm. And it’s not what we expected. oh yeah, we didn’t bring handphones when we were traveling either. yes cool right. After we arrived at IDN Slipi we decided to take a break for about 30 minutes then we continued to sell around there and alhamdulillah we got a decent income, even though our sales didn’t run out.

While selling we also open donations for places that we make volunteers.

we sell until 5.30 pm and after that we decide to return to idn slipi yes we need to rest too after a long journey ehehe.

okay entering the second day. so here it is our appearance….

We go from IDN to slip to the nearest bus stop on foot, yes, to reduce expenses while exercising. then after arriving at the bus stop we used the busway to get to our volunteer’s place. the distance between the bus stop and our volunteer’s place was quite far so we decided to take an angkot to get there.

Oh yeah, I haven’t told where I and my group are volunteering. We volunteer at Pantiasuhan Bina Cahaya Bathin, which is located at Jl. Dewi Sartika №9, RT.1/RW.4, Cawang, Kec. Kramat jati, Kota Jakarta Timur, Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta 13630. So Panti Sosial Bina Netra dan Rungu Wicara (PSBNRW) Cahaya Batin is the Social Service Technical Implementation Unit in implementing social welfare service activities for Blind and Deaf Speech Disabilities.This orphanage is different from any other orphanage I’ve ever been to.

And of course by being a volunteer at this orphanage I feel something new.

And this is us on the first day we held a sharing section with people from a blind home. I was so moved after listening to their stories. they have flaws but have a myriad of great talents.

We volunteer from Monday and Tuesday. And on the last or third day we accompany the continuation of OM like the one in this photo

They are so great. even though they are blind but they have a burning spirit. they are really great, they can travel alone, order their own go-jek, some even like coding, yes, ngoding…is really cool.

Okay we continue on the third day.Many events occurred on the third day. We take part in many activities carried out by orphanage children. such as religious class, OM class, and others. Oh yes, we are participating. Yes, participate in their activities, like sports, more precisely, sunbathing. Yes for the health of the body too. they have lots of activities. And there I have many friends who are deaf and blind friends. So there we also learn sign language from deaf friends, yes, we are taught sign language to communicate with them, it’s really fun.

Don’t forget that we also chatted with the orphanage and they were very welcome to us. A very good person. There are lots of activities that we participate in and are very meaningful, especially for me.I learned many lessons after this event. starting from knowing how to talk to other people, learning to be grateful with what I have, learning to be independent and many more.

Almost forgot to tell you guys. I already told you before that I was given a task. And the task is to interview other people. The specifications are that we are looking for 5 people to be interviewed and that 5 people interviewed each person. yep right I also have to interview 5 people. This is so that each student can communicate with others. I interviewed people in succession from the old and the young.

The first person I interviewed was named Mrs. Wati.Initially, Mrs. Wati and I chatted because Mrs. Wati wanted to buy my goods. and from there Mrs. Wati told about her.so Mrs. Wati worked in travel and was about to go home and saw me who seemed to be selling something that caught Mrs. Wati’s attention. And Mrs. wati told me that after seeing me Mrs. wati remembered her child and it turned out that her child was also the same age as me. In the end, Mrs. Wati bought my sale to give it to her child. And the conversation ended because the busway that I was waiting for had arrived.

The second person I interviewed was Mrs. Endang. So I interviewed Mrs. Endang while I was on the busway. I asked Mrs. Endang where did she come from and where were she going? And Mrs. Endang answered. “I’m from Cawang want to work” and yes the conversation continues. I don’t really remember exactly what it was like but we shared stories at that time. and the conversation ended because Mrs. Endang had arrived at the destination stop.

The third person I interviewed was Mr. Irwan. so Mr. Irwan is waiting for the busway with me. then I ventured to interview Mr. Irwan. and finally Pakrirwan agreed for me to be interviewed. and yes I asked where he lived then where he wanted to and so on.

and the fourth person is kak Ertno. so I interviewed Sis Ertno when I wanted to go to an orphanage on the first day of volunteering. Kak Ertno himself is from Cawang and wants to go to work. Ms. Ertno works at a perfume shop and Ms. Ertno asked me to stop by to buy her perfume and when I tried Ms. Ertno’s perfume, hmmm, it smelled really good, I hope I can go there hehe. already again the conversation is over because I have reached my destination.

And the last person I interviewed was Mr hari. and of all the people I interviewed, Mr. Hari was the one who gave me a lot of teaching and advice. So I initially invited Pap Hari to sit next to me. And from there we chatted. I asked Mr. Hari where he was from and Mr. Hari replied “I am from Kalimantan, I want to find my children and grandchildren”. When I heard that I was quite surprised because Pak Hari is from Kalimantan itself.then sir even asked me. “Why are you still wearing your school uniform at this time?” and I answered “so like this, sir, I’m a boarding school student, there’s an event like that, sir” and I told him that I was going to Jakarta using public transportation. Then Mr. Hari said, “Wow, that’s good. If you can go anywhere, you can do it yourself.” and a lot of conversations that I’m talking about. There is a message that Pak Hari left for me, namely “I have a principle that we must greet other people even though we don’t know each other, and still do good because maybe our kindness will be rewarded many times over with Allah”. and those words motivated me. And Mr. Hari had the desire to build a boarding school. I hope that your wish will come true, amiiiin. Pak Hari and I chatted for a long time and didn’t realize that we had reached our destination. And yes forced to end the conversation.

And yes that’s my story. Lots of stories that inspired me, even though it was only 3 days but it was a meaningful day for me. okay maybe that’s all I can tell. actually a lot of stories but I’m confused to tell it hehe. Thank you for bringing.

Wassalamualaikum Warohmatullahi Wabarokatuhh…..

--

--