Want To Have Flawless Skin? Here’s What I Have Followed

Dhrishni Thakuria
6 min readMay 14, 2018

If there’s one thing we all desire, it’s having amazing skin. I mean, who wouldn’t want perfect skin so they can go at least one day without wearing makeup and actually leave the house? I love wearing no makeup and I’m not afraid to rock the bare look. But that’s only because over the years I’ve been taking great care of my skin, which means it’s taken a lot of hard work.

Firstly, I do not apply makeup (except lipstick and kohl) because I believe the skin needs to breathe and you have to allow it to shine from inside rather than relying on chemicals too often. I even make it a routine to keep away from my daily skin care products once every 2–3 months for 7–8 days.

It really feels powerful and great to be able to walk out of your home with a bare look, once a while.

[Read here: https://medium.com/@dhrishni/i-went-14-days-without-using-skin-care-beauty-products-on-my-face-and-this-happened-719770e0b4c0?source=user_profile---------31-------------------]

I have often been asked about my skincare routine and what all are the products I apply. So in this blog, I’ve managed to construct a skin care routine that will not only give you a flawless finish but skin that you will be able to find confidence in again!

Note: Never overdo your application usage and keep your daily usage of each product to not more than a pea-drop for every part of your face.

If you want to up your confidence and go bare too, then check out this routine that will change your skincare game:

Step 1: Create Your Base

What I Use: Himalaya Neem Face Wash | Usage Period: 9 years

First things first, in order to transform your skin, you need to create a good foundation to make this happen. The hard work begins with prepping your skin and returning vital nutrients it needs to thrive. And like any normal skincare routine begins, this one starts with cleansing. You essentially want to banish your face of oil, keep your poles closed and have a high powered cleanser that lifts away impurities that bury themselves in the skin.

This face wash is a basic and it would be unbearable for my skin to do without it for too long. Not only does it prevent my skin from acne but gives a fresh and supple feel every time I use it.

Step 2: Add The Right Serum

What I Use: Olay White Radiance Brightening Intensive Fairness Serum | Usage Period: 8 years

You’re going to really want to tackle your pores because that’s where all the oil and debris collects. Olay White Radiance Serum is made with high concentration of whitening active & dual color vitamin beads that will do your skin so much good. Not only will it maintain your oil balance, but it will keep your skin hydrated! It is the perfect base for me that I have religiously used for the past 8 years without a fall, every single day.

Step 2: Keep The Balance

What I Use: Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Cream | Usage Period: 2 years

Hydration is the key to any winning skincare routine. If hydration isn’t your main priority then you need to begin to focus on it. Because it’s real element towards making your skin perfect. Just think what your skin is exposed to every day, and especially in the colder weather, you need to extra care when it comes to hydrating!

Ok, so this cream is amazing because it uses moisture-lock technology that keeps hydration locked in your skin for up to more than 24 hours! So, if you forget to put it on one night, know that you’ll be covered! I really love to apply it at night so I can let it soak in whilst I sleep and I feel by morning I wake up with more supple-like skin. You do not need more than a pea drop of this cream when you are stepping out of home during day time.

Note: If you are wearing a sunscreen after applying this cream, then give your skin 15–20 minutes’ time. Otherwise your skin will look extremely dull.

Step 3: Smooth It Out

What I Use: Estee Lauder Daywear Multi Protection Anti Oxidant Creme SPF 15 | Usage Period: 1.5 years

We all love sunscreen because it does a great job at hiding an uneven skin tone. It makes our face look brighter and healthier. So, in order to make our skin do the same, we need to brighten it up! And this is so easily done by instead relying on sunscreen rather than cosmetics.

To transform an uneven skin tone, you need to work on two things. First, you need an agent that will brighten the skin, which will make it appear fuller and secondly, you need to exfoliate skin to give it a more even texture. And this sunscreen will do you wonders, it will plump the skin, brighten it and give skin an instant boost.

Step 4: Pick The Right Mask

What I Use: Lotus Herbals Claywhite Black Clay Skin Whitening Face Pack | Usage Period: 9 years

This will probably be the most fun, easiest and quickest way you can achieve better-looking skin. Facemasks are everywhere at the moment and let’s face it, it’s one of our favorite things to do to unwind! So, why not choose the best face masks that will do magic, whilst you sit back and enjoy you-time! I use this Claywhite facepack from Lotus once every 14 days. It helps to open the pores in my skin and remove the excessive oil from my face.

Mind you — after application do not let the pack rest on your face for more than 15–20 minutes or else it can leave greyish-blue patches on your skin.

That’s All Folks!

So now that I have revealed my skin care routine with you, share your thoughts with me and let me know if you have used any of the products above and how has your experience been. Always remember — know how much quantity you need to apply. NEVER apply excessive amount of any skincare product or get restless if a certain product needs time to show their result. Ideally for a new product to show its result, it needs a minimum of 5–7 days to say the least.

And the best catalyst to all the above is drinking at least 8 glasses of water DAILY!

Shine on and stay beautiful :)

--

--