Week 1: Fighting the battle

Dhruv Apte
2 min readDec 8, 2017

I could not document changes in the last seven days due to a very conflicting schedule and my own laziness. But of course, B.E.N.J.I. was not just revolutionized in this week.

Stuff that got improved

We had pretty good changes:

  • Abhimanyu Thakre fixed some bugs regarding the news apps. He also improved the way the web query worked by also making the .org and other domain names to work. He is currently working on a really good function( secret!)
  • Snehal Reddy has done an excellent job in designing the new logo for B.E.N.J.I. The new logo seems cooler than the previously simple obvious one.
  • Yatish and Kaushal have done a really awesome job debugging the code all the week especially the Linux version.

We recently changed our communication channel to Slack after suggestions from some coders. This has proved much handy then Google Groups. My team has been participating very enthusiastically in the program. On Tuesday, this week, I gave a motivating speech that might have motivated some more people to contribute and learn. We are still going very good on this 🎉

What we intend to do now

We need to enhance our GUI(Graphical User Interface). We currently have a very basic one (built by wxpython) but I think we need to change it to Tkinter. Secondly, we need to have some basic issues fixed like creating a setup.py, making the code modular and of course, the big one- making B.E.N.J.I. compatible with Mac OS and finally cross-platform.

In the spirit of enthusiasm, a lot of the coders have been pulling requests for some very basic changes. Though this makes me frustrated 😛 , but I persuade the coders to try something good: not to make B.E.N.J.I. just a simple bot. Expectedly, they did follow this!

More in my next post!

--

--