Fun With TextMeshPro

David Hunter Thornton
2 min readSep 30, 2022

--

Objective: Use many of the built in features of TextMeshPro to generate unique text for my Score UI.

At the moment the text UI for my score looks very plain and doesn’t match the theme of the game at all. Luckily TextMeshPro is a really powerful tool within Unity.

The first thing that I need to do is open the Font Asset Creator Window.

Next I’ll drag in my desired font, and “Generate Font Atlas”. I shouldn’t need to change any of my current settings for this.

Now if I drag the newly created Font Asset into my “Score_TMP” object the first part will be done.

A few other settings in the Inspector need to be changed as well. Such as bolding the font, changing the font size, color and position.

And just like that we’ve got a unique Score UI. In the next article I’ll be taking the steps to implement the code for adjusting the numbers within Score_TMP.

You can now play this game on itch.io! I’ll try to keep it updated as I work on it and add new features or tweak existing ones.

……………………………………………………………………………………….

Shameless Plug: If you like my stuff, be sure to check me out on other social media platforms and join the BornAngry Games Discord!

YouTubeTwitchLinkedInFacebookTwitterPortfolioDiscord

--

--