A Technical Leader‘s Awakening — Part 1 : Finding your way.

Lamine DIABY
6 min readDec 13, 2021
Link from The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening (1993)

This is the first part of a series of articles about my takes on the technical leader role based on my own experience.

I have been working in software development for over 15 years.

I had the chance to work with great teams, with which I was able to carry out interesting and rewarding projects.

It’s been a while since i wanted to share my personal story and the resulting thoughts about technical leadership in development teams.

I will write about the concept of technical leadership, my insights about this, the skills which helped me to improve, the difficulties I encountered and the changes it has implied in my work habits.

NB : For my first story on Medium, I wanted to honor The Legend of Zelda Link’s Awakening which is one of my absolute favorite adventure game. The title of this series is a shameful yet assumed pun based on this beloved game…

Who should read this post ?

This post is mostly for :

  1. Developers who are hesitant about the path to take on their career journey.
  2. Developers interested in a management position and searching for advice.
  3. Technical leaders interested in learning from others’…

--

--