Diana Kimball Berlin
1 min readFeb 24, 2016

--

I love this thought experiment. It reminds me of the imperative to design personal habits in such a way that your most exhausted self can sustain them. (Can’t remember where I first read that, but the idea has stuck with me.) Yet frustration and exhaustion require slightly different safeguards. And I agree with sha that design is still an applicable tool; it’s just that when spaces are “designed” for a narrow set of supposedly-ideal user mindsets, they’ll leave a lot of people out. In that regard, this line of thought has a lot in common with accessibility work. How might we design systems that meet people where they are?

--

--

Diana Kimball Berlin

Early-stage VC at Matrix Partners. Before: product at Salesforce, Quip, SoundCloud, and Microsoft. Big fan of reading and writing. https://dianaberlin.com