A 5 Year Old Child Trapped Inside a 71 Year Old Body

Diane Egan
2 min readSep 5, 2021

When growing old goes into reverse

Photo of a man growing older, but still a kid at heart.
Photo and edit by the author.

I often write about my man-child husband and his Traumatic Brain Injury. I just don’t publish very much of it.

It’s déjà vu all over again.

When my kids were five years old, I couldn’t talk on the phone without hearing, “Mommy! Shelly’s mean to me!” “Mommy! I don’t want to take a bath!” “Mommy! Hang up the phone!” They didn’t care who was on the other end of the line. The kids thought I should drop everything because they were calling my name. I get that. They were my kids.

As my husband gets older, I can’t have an uninterrupted phone conversation unless he’s asleep. If I’m not using FaceTime, he loudly whispers, “Who are you talking to?” I should probably keep a pen and paper handy, so I can write him a note.

I taught my kids about stranger danger.

My ex-mother-in-law left two-year-old daughter #1 in a shopping cart while getting milk at the grocery store. An elderly man pushed the cart out of the way so he could grab something. That’s when my sweet little baby screamed, “GRAM! HIM’S STEALING ME!”

Fast forward to daughter #2. My greatest fear was that my girls thought it was their fault that Mommy and Daddy didn’t live…

--

--

Diane Egan

Writer | Wife | Caregiver | Need Therapy | In Therapy | Warped Sense of Humor | Joke and Storyteller | I Love Coffee 💕 https://paypal.me/DianeEganCom