Don’t Fall For Sextortion

Yes, sextortion is a thing.

Diane Egan
2 min readSep 3, 2022
Man in a coffee shop, looking at his phone.
Photo by ABDALLA M on Unsplash

Silly me thought people were smart enough not to send dick pics to people they’ve never met in person. Surprise! It’s happening again!

The University of Central Florida is warning students not to share provocative photos with strangers. Personally, I wouldn’t even do it with my husband. There’s a trust factor missing in our relationship…thank you very much, f#cking Dementia.

Back story

I bought our first digital camera at a computer show in Orlando years and years ago. I took a few pictures of trees and flowers, then showed my husband how to download the photos from the camera to my computer. His disdain of technology blinded him, so as usual he didn’t pay attention to me. Why should he? He has me to pick up his slack.

One morning, he woke me up whispering, “Hey! How do I get pictures off the camera?” I told him I could be bought with a cup of coffee. While my coffee was brewing, I connected the camera to my PC and waited for the pictures to download.

Back in those days, and maybe even today — a box popped up so I could watch the pictures download. I wasn’t wearing my glasses, but I was pretty sure those pictures were of my bare ass! I grabbed my glasses, stared at the photos, and shouted, “You son of a bitch! You can’t…

--

--

Diane Egan

Writer | Wife | Caregiver | Need Therapy | In Therapy | Warped Sense of Humor | Joke and Storyteller | I Love Coffee 💕 https://paypal.me/DianeEganCom