Barak Obama Replied to My Comment

I was shocked and dismayed.

Diane Egan
2 min readAug 14, 2021
Screenshot from Diane Egan’s computer

I’m still getting my feet wet writing on Medium. It’s getting more comfortable and becoming part of my daily routine. I read a lot of the stories that pop up when I open Medium. Imagine my surprise that Barack Obama writes on Medium! He had written an article naming his 2021 Summer Reading List and an extensive Summer Playlist. They’re impressive!

I commented, “This is way cool. I must have been under a rock because I didn’t know about your lists. Thanks for sharing!” Nothing fancy; I only wanted to tell him I liked his lists.

Just imagine how thrilled I was to see my notifications had a reply from President Obama. I couldn’t imagine what he wrote to me…a Medium newbie with 71 followers. Would you like to see what he said?
Yes, I thought you might.

Screenshot from Diane Egan’s computer

WHAT THE ACTUAL F#CK IS THIS SH#T? I realized he didn’t spell the first name correctly. The first name was “Barak,” not “Barack.”

Of course, I replied to his reply.

Screenshot from Diane Egan’s computer

Yeah, he bruised my ego. I’m not lying when I say how thrilled I was at the beginning. Gee… that lasted a whole three minutes.

I’m shooting for seven minutes next!

--

--

Diane Egan

Writer | Wife | Caregiver | Need Therapy | In Therapy | Warped Sense of Humor | Joke and Storyteller | I Love Coffee 💕 https://paypal.me/DianeEganCom