10 Amazing Facts about Rwanda and Reasons to visit in 2018.

Didier Champion
7 min readJan 4, 2018

I am from RWANDA! A beautiful country in the East African Region.

Aerial Photo of my hometown, Kigali, Rwanda

2018 is an exciting year for my beautiful nation, Rwanda, and for travelers around the world. As a proud Rwandan, I am very happy that we are finally starting to get the recognition we deserve by many international tourism agencies around the World.

Rwanda has been featured among the “must see” locations for the year 2018 by various international travel agencies such as CNN Travel, New York Times, Huffington Post, The Telegraph, the Vogue, and many others.

Rwandan Flag

Unfortunately, 8 out of 10 people I meet in the United States and Europe seem to assume that “Rwanda Today” is still the “1994-Rwanda” they watched in the movie about the Rwandan genocide. They ask me:

Have you seen the movie, “Hotel Rwanda”? Is that real?

--

--

Didier Champion

Son of Africa, Energy Engineer, Entrepreneur & Rwandan Expat. A true hustler at heart, Traveling Nomad & Storyteller. https://didierchampion.com/.