Dear world, We are NOT Hotel-Rwanda: Rwanda Today is Peaceful, Developing and Prosperous.

Didier Champion
14 min readFeb 25, 2018

I am from RWANDA! A beautiful country in the East African Region.

Rwandan Flag Colors Explained: “Blue” for peace and happiness, “Yellow” for economic development, “Green” for prosperity and “the sun” for enlightenment.

I am very proud to be Rwandan. Wherever I go, live or work, I take the Rwandan pride with me. However, one of the perks of being Rwandan in the diaspora, is the questions you get asked when you tell people that you are from Rwanda. The majority of the people I meet do not know where Rwanda is on the map. Even if they know something about Rwanda, 9 out of 10, is the Rwandan genocide in 1994. So, you can imagine how many of my conversations start. You are from Rwanda? OMG, I have never met anybody from Rwanda before. But I have watched the movie, Hotel-Rwanda. That was some fucked up shit. How is it over there today? Is your family okay? Are you Tutsi or Hutu?

Depending on the setting and the timing of the conversation, some of conversations can really be awkward. Over the years, I used to simply lie about where I was from to avoid any further questions, especially if I knew I not have enough time to explain. But today, with pride and honor, I…

--

--

Didier Champion

Son of Africa, Energy Engineer, Entrepreneur & Rwandan Expat. A true hustler at heart, Traveling Nomad & Storyteller. https://didierchampion.com/.