Patrick DiDomenico
2 min readApr 14, 2018

--

If I Must Cover My iPhone, I Choose Leather, Thank You Very Much

Nothing feels quite like a naked, case-free mobile device. In a perfect world, where iPhone cameras lenses don’t protrude from their bodies, and dropped phones don’t shatter into a thousand pieces, I wouldn’t feel the need to conceal my beloved device in a case.

But this is the real world, and while I’m not clumsy, the risk of a $1,000 mishap is not one I’m willing to take. So, I’ll forego that smooth glass-and-metal feel for something else: leather.

The natural feel of Apple’s leather iPhone case is surprisingly welcome. While completely different, the contrast just works. I chose the Saddle Brown version because of its understated elegance, and because I love the look of hard-earned patina on natural materials.

Only a few months in, the case is starting to show its simple beauty.

--

--

Patrick DiDomenico

Pursue simplicity in all things. Aspiring minimalist. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Black Belt. Ensoband — the anti-wallet. www.ensoband.com Legal Knowledge Management.