INTERVIEW WITH MOK FROM GOOD FOR IT [ENG]

Die Apotheke
9 min readAug 10, 2020

--

Good For It is a Taiwan-based company driving local barbering to global success. Led by Mok, a man with great taste and sense of style, they deals with all aspects of culture: organizing events, selling and distributing styling products, carrying Japanese streetwear brands… In general, doing the style! And now Mok and his friend are opening their own “Bullseye Barber Shop”.

We recently received a poster from Mok with signature haircuts of his barbers that showing what Taiwanese barbering is. We looked at that, and still have the questions — so we decided to talk with Mok and find out everything on our own: what was the gangster style in Taiwan in the middle of the XX century, what were the old shops, why he likes Japanese street style and why it is important for him to develop local barbering in all its ways.

Photo: Phoebus Shang

We know that in the 20th century Taiwan gangsters especially liked to go to barbershops and to do curly. Can you tell us more about this? About the gangster style of those years.

Barber Shop in the 50–60’s was the shit! It’s very expensive back than too, that was the golden age of Taiwan so go to a barber shop to get a haircut, massage, shoe shine or even a ear pick was a sign of luxury. Yes the old gangsters always go there before and after party, the classic curling roll look I believe that's from Japanese gangster style originally. It became very popular after 1964 Tokyo Olympic when all the best players where African so Japanese barbers tried many ways to imitate this look on Asian’s hair, back than this was a sign of masculine, this curly look was called “Champion Hair” and a lot of gang member were into it cos it shows how strong they are. Taiwanese gangsters also love mullet style and regent style which also came from Japanese Bosozoku (biker gang). Since Taiwan was under Japanese colonial for over 50 years we do share a log of culture together.

What haircuts was popular in Taiwan in the second half the 20th century among? Was there anything that impressed you the most?

There was also a popular hair cut called “Yamamoto Style” which is similar with buzz cut but with very sharp edges. The hair would look almost like an “M” on forehead, cut off half of side burns and left all same length on the top. This look was originally from a famous Japanese admiral “Isoroku Yamamoto” and there was a movie about him called “Grand Fleet “ which became a blockbuster in both Japan and Taiwan in 1981. Back than it was a sign of discipline & masculine so a lot of guys were into it.

Tell the story of how you decided to found Good For It Barberclub. And why you choose this name.

Back around 2008 I’ve heard about this new type of pomade which is water-based from a good friend in the states,since I used to use traditional pomade when I was in high school that caught my attention cos all I remember was that shit is so hard to wash out,after we tried the pomade we start import all kinds of new and cool hair product around the world,back than all barber brands were blooming in that period as well, we decided to start a sub line under my shop Goodforit as The Goodforit Barberclub,the concept was like a social club which allows us to introduce all these cool product to cool people,we’ve expend the barberclub to department stores around the country in 2014 cos we want more man from the main stream to know about barber culture.

We saw “Apothecary”, and we was really impressed. Why you put it in your logo? What in means for you?

Before I answer this one I need to clarify The Goodforit Barberclub is not a barber shop, sorry for the confusion! We are a retail/distribution company focusing on hair product, shaving, colognes and even scented candles for man, just like the vintage apothecary store in the early 20’s, as for now we do everything besides cut hair which includes organizing events,collaborate with local & foreign barbers, promote barber culture in our own ways.

You have a very unusual model: you are both a barbershop and a clothing store. Why you chose this way?

I found that’s interesting too! I grew up in a traditional family like most of Asian guys, we were taught to study hard,be a doctor or lawyer when you grow up, even dress smart is a bad sign cos that means you might not do good at school. My goal is to create a system that helps consumer to look better and feel better about themselves, even for the guys with no story to tell I want to make them cooler with all my cool product. We start it from clothing and over the years we’ve developed into home were, hair style and grooming. I will keep expanding so cool guys can be even cooler, that’s my company goal!

Tell us why you represent Japanese street brands? And tell us more about few brand you carried. Radiall, Calee -for us here in Europe it’s still underground.

The fashion & street culture in Taiwan are deeply affected by Japan, I get familiar with the Ura-Harajuku culture in the 90’s and I was heavily drawn to it. I found Japanese are a interesting race cos they can always absorb foreign culture and make it their own,which is not only appearance but they will do research and study deeply as they can also come up with a good business model to keep things rolling.

You’ve mentioned the clothing brand like Radiall and Calee,they are hardcore on vintage, hippies and biker style over the years with the best cutting and quality. We have another brand called Softmachine from Japan that I found interesting too. These guys makes tattoo inspired clothes and they do it with style. If you love tattoo you should definitely check it out. On the other hand we have this hat brand called The H.W.Dog & Co, all their hats are made with 1910–1920 Singer and 1930 Union Special sewing machine by hand, I think they are all very fascinating! I’ve noticed you have quite a few cool brands in Russia as well! I hope I can introduce them to Taiwanese one day if I have the opportunity!

What rules and traditions you follow If we talk about barbershop vibes?

I think the pecking order is very important,we are a little bit different with western style cos we always value the seniors,that’s the most important thing for my shop, I would want my barbers to keep improve their skills and let the world to see them,never rush into things cos its all about skills!

Besides street clothes and haircuts, what culture is affecting you now?

I have to say its tattoo culture, Taiwan is more open comes to tattoo compare with Japan, Korea, China and other Asian countries, all styles are popular here! I love tattoo history and stories and I hope one day I can be a tattoo collector (full body).

Taiwan’s climate is very hot, how does this affect your work and your haircuts?

Let me tell you a funny story. There’s once one of our imported Japanese brand were complaining about how we only place order on T-Shirts, I told them yes becos we are always in summer! They look at me and told me I should learn from their Russian dealer coz they only order jackets. Lol, is that true you guys always cold? I can’t imagine but I prefer winter to be honest, since we are always hot the hairstyle in recent years are buzz cut and ceasers,more and more people can’t stands the grease on hair so styling powder and clays are getting popular,consumer with pompadour only look for high hold product cos of the high heat and humid weather.

You recently did a cool poster, before it you showed a photo series with all these haircuts. Tell us more about your working on that project — how it was? What was the most memorable for you?

I’m really honored to be a part of this project and I hope you guys have received the poster as we speak. After organizing our first barber battle last December we have decided to do something to commemorate the event,we asked all 3 winners from the battle and our other two master barbers who did a guest show in House of Seven 2020 join up the team, its really cool that we have senior barbers and young bloods working together as one,we’ve invited 9 of our high following friends to be our model which includes entertainer, actor, tattoo artist, dancer, designer and bikers, by combining the classic hair cut and our local styles the poster represent Taiwan’s barber culture in decade. I’ve attended quite a few barber events in overseas over the past two years and I’ve seen cool posters from Netherlands, America, Japan and Hong Kong so that’s why I want to make a poster for Taiwan,to show who we are and what we got and I hope I can continue the project next year.

What are you focused on right now?

I will open my barber shop this August! We’ve been working on this for a few month now and the shop is called “Bullseye Barber Shop”!

I’m doing this with my close friend David who’s the founder of MG-Barber originally based in Zhongli city. I’m really exited about this becos we will combine our expertise and build up a cool team in Taipei, we will also be working with a few local tattoo artist for another clothing project later on this year. I would love to go overseas if the covid-19 situation can be solved because I want more people to know Taiwan barbers. I’ve heard so much cool things about Moscow and I hope I can visit you guys one day!

Tell us about your locals. When we or our readers will visit your shop, what places/people we also should to visit?

Taiwan is a cultural diversity country! We are one of a few places that is totally safe for travelers,besides the city scene in Taipei we’ve got nice mountains and beautiful seas, we have both Chinese traditions and Japanese culture combined in an interesting way, after you visit my shop I can introduce a few cool stores who does hardcore rockabilly hair styles and traditional tattoos, if you love drinking I would strongly suggest bring back a bottle of Kinmen Kaoliang home, it’s our classic liquor made by sorghum which is transparent and colorless like vodka! Come to Taiwan! It will be fun!

Based on your big experience, what do you think: what is the differences between barbershop and hair salon?

In my point of view barber shop has been man cave for hundreds of years,I think the biggest differences between barber and salon is I can be relaxed in a barber shop, talk shit with my buddies with no pressure, I think barber shop don’t have to resist doing perm or coloring cos its really about give the consumer what they want, I think the most important job for our generation is to make all man go to barber shop instead of salon, it’s a man’s world!

--

--

Die Apotheke

Blog of Die Apotheke. Old school barbershop in Moscow. Only Traditional haircuts and shaving. https://www.instagram.com/die_apotheke/