How to use my headset microphone on Ubuntu 22.04

Diego Quintale
2 min readJun 10, 2022

--

My laptop is an Acer E5–571 and I wanted to use my headset microphone on it (on the same P2 jack). However, using Ubuntu 22.04 default configuration, I was only able to listen the sound, it was using the built-in microphone.

After some research (and several reboots), I’ve found the solution.

First of all, you need to create / update /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf file and add this lines:

options snd-hda-intel position fix=1
options snd-hda-intel model=headset-mic,aspire-headset-mic,alc283-headset,alc283-sense-combo

After that, reboot the system.

Now, every time you insert the P2 you will see this message:

This way, you now can choose if you are using an headphone (without microphone — this way the built-in microphone will be used) ou an headset (with microphone).

If it doesn’t work?

This solution is great for my laptop, you can try with yours but it might not work for you.

You can try change your model on the second line of/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conffile.

Search here your model, remove everything after model= and insert the model you have found.

Save, reboot and try again inserting your P2. If you see the message, success; otherwise you must try another model. You can also checkout this Ask Ubuntu thread.

Cheers!

--

--