David Johnson
Dec 9, 2022

--

Correlation is not causation. The current rounds of layoffs are not caused by remote working. As James Carville said, "It's the economy, stupid!"

As someone who has worked mostly remotely for the past 12 years, I find it very productive. That said, I agree there's value in bringing people together face-to-face that's hard to achieve remotely. I don't think the answer is to bring people back into fluorescent-lit cubicles full-time. Let's go hybrid baby!

I don't agree with knee-jerk reactions from CEOs that want to eliminate remote work. If a worker isn't productive, then mentor or replace them regardless of where they happen to work. If you say you worry workers aren't putting in full days, then I ask how are tracking productivity? Tracking productivity by measuring hours spent in the office is simply bad management.

--

--